Stench Price Self-Titled Debut Album Breaks The Mould For Grindcore
metal talk
instagram Facebook Twitter RSS
metal talk

jools green
Jools Green

stench price

There was a time when I'd know exactly what to expect from a new Rogga Johansson album but this prolific pillar of Swedish Death Metal has been getting increasingly adventurous of late.

The latest 'Megascavenger' album took on a strong Industrial edge but this latest project, 'Stench Price', a grindcore release, will surprise, confound and shock but hopefully delight his most avid fan base as well as attract new ones.

It's grind but like nothing you've ever heard before. Quirky and innovative are understatements regarding this album.

Article continues below...


Like the 'Megascavenger' project, this six-track offering also features contributions from an impressive international line-up;

France: Romain Goulon – Drums (Necrophagist, Disavowed)
Siberia: Peter Shallmin – Bass (Escapethecult, Kamlath)
Siberia: Max Konstantinov – Guitars (Kamlath, Nebesniesnami)
USA: Danny Lilker (Brutal Truth, Nuclear Assault, SOD)
Sweden: Rogga Johansson (Paganizer, Demiurg)
USA: Max Phelps (Cynic, Death DTA Tours, Exist)
UK: Dave Ingram (Hail of Bullets, Benediction, Bolt Thrower)
Australia: Karina Utomo (High Tension)
USA: Shawn Knight (Child Bite)

stench price

Then there's the rather unusual factor that gives this album a very different edge, the extra contribution across the releases from Peter Shallmin who has laced the tracks with bossa/lounge music in way that makes your jaw drop and the overall result is undeniably unique.

In true grindcore style, the whole offering is a short sharp and intense fifteen minutes and it's hard to pick a favourite from such a varied and individual collection as each has its own winning merits from 'Living Fumes' (featuring Danny Lilker) boasting stomach churning gutturals and superb shredding, the crushingly brutal Death Metal orientated 'Furnaces Burn' (featuring Rogga), the punk edged and unnerving 'Pressure' (featuring Karina Utomo) or '4.27.15' (featuring Max Phelps) with its superbly skin crawling, raw Death Metal vocal delivery.

The darkest, heaviest and most brutal offering of the release is 'The Genocide Machine' (featuring Dave Ingram) and the album closes on the off-kilter and avant-garde 'The Vitality Slip' (featuring Shawn Knight).

The lyrics are by Danny Lilker, Dave Ingram, Rogga Johansson, Karina Utomo, Max Phelps and Shawn Knight and the album was mixed and mastered at The Morrisound Recordings Studio, Tampa, Florida and should appeal to fans of Fuck The Facts, Brutal Truth, Nasum, Terrorizer, Wormrot, Bathtub Shitter or anyone with an ear for the unique.





Metal talk © All written site content is copyright 2008-2018, unless otherwise stated, and is not to be used without prior permission.