Jools Green
The Abyss
26th June 2019

gahhs wyrd

The quietly charismatic and hugely talented musician and artist Gaahl returns with his latest band, Gaahl's Wyrd, and their debut studio release, 'GastiR - Ghosts Invited', and sound wise it naturally reflects aspects of his highly acclaimed work with Gorgoroth, Trelldom, God Seed, and Wardruna but is also a very individual beast all of its own.

It's an eerie, haunting mix of atmospheric Black Metal with a punchy edge which they describe as "expressive, extreme, esoteric Metal", and that pretty much nails it description wise. It's very forward thinking and innovative and makes an engaging listen.

gahhs wyrd

Forming in 2015, Gaahl's Wyrd has seen a couple of line-up changes since the 'Bergen Nov'15' live release in 2017, with Lust Kilman (Ole Walaunet) on guitars, Eld (Frode Kilvik) on bass and Spektre (Kevin Kvåle) on drums joining vocalist Gaahl (Kristian Espedal) on this release and if how this sounds is anything to go by, this is a line-up worth keeping.

The eight-track forty-two minute 'GastiR – Ghosts Invited' is a very guitar driven sound in the realms of Gaahl’s Gorgoroth era but more current, fresh and very mature, it's a very sharp album, with a very subtle and minimal use of programming with the atmospheric sound centring on the powerfully delivered guitar work and Gaahl's vocal content, with cleaner imposing and often unnerving baritones playing a big part in this release, of the vast vocal range employed.

gahhs wyrd

The album contains both the previously released singles, 'From The Spear', with its clean driving riffs and tortuous clean closing vocals and 'Ghosts Invited' where the baritone is underpinned with an underlying growl.

I'm loath to chose a favourite track, all are well composed and brimming with energy and intensity, powerfully delivered with well places poignant reflective passages that add more impact to the sound, even when you get to the full throttle penultimate, 'Through And Past And Past', quality is not lost at the expense of the increased pace. It's an album that is superb from the haunting opening of 'Ek Erilar' all the way through to the equally haunting and darkly reflective builder, 'Within The Voice Of Existence', which culminates with hypnotic chanting vocals. A dark, irresistible listen end to end.

1. Ek Erilar
2. From The Spear
3. Ghosts Invited
4. Carving The Voices
5. Veiztu Hve
6. The Speech And The Self
7. Through And Past And Past
8. Within The Voice Of Existence
'GastiR - Ghosts Invited' was produced and engineered by Iver Sandøy (Enslaved) and is out now on Season Of Mist (world) and Indie Recordings (Norway).



© All written site content is copyright 2008-2019, unless otherwise stated, and is not to be used without prior permission.