metal talk
instagram Facebook Twitter RSS
metal talk

jools green
7th December 2017
Jools Green


'Memento Mori', meaning "remember you must die", refers to the medieval Latin Christian theory and practice of reflection on mortality, considering the vanity of earthly life and the transient nature of all earthly goods and pursuits BUT much more importantly it is also the title of the debut full-length from Swedish Black Metal outfit Grimtone.

Naturally the main topic of the album is predominantly about death as well as the transition from life.

Grimtone were created by Michael Lang of Swedish doomsters Stonegriff and joined by Linus Carlstedt from 'Nebulous Aura' and 'Extermination', when the urge to create Black Metal grabbed him.

As the band name suggests he's gone for a harsh, icy and pure sound delivered with intensity.

There's also a very old school feel to the sound in the riffing and an empty room echo on the vocals, very reminiscent of the early Norwegian bands, which I like.


In the past this was rumoured to have been achieved by some bands by recording the vocals in bathrooms. True or not whenever I hear this sound it does bring a smile of nostalgia to my face, and it adds a lot of atmosphere.

There is also an impressive and surprising degree of clarity to the vocal rasping vitriolic delivery, even on 'Witch's Lair' which has that distant, recorded from another room sound, hugely atmospheric.

I found this an unnerving release, mostly because of the raw clarity to the vocals, a rarity in Black Metal, there's usually a mysterious indecipherable aspect to many bands of this style and genre's vocal delivery.

The overall musicianship is sound and hopefully this is just the start of greater things to come from Grimtone. Standout tracks, for me are; the haunting 'The Blood Of The Dead' and the eerie 'Witch's Lair'.

1 - Intro
2 - Souls Reborn in Hate
3 - The Blood of the Dead
4 - Memento Mori
5 - Fields of Pale Limbs
6 - Armageddon (Rise from Hell)
7 - Witch's Lair
8 - Empress of the Black

'Memento Mori' should be of interest to fans of Darkthrone, early Enslaved and Skogen and will be released worldwide by Extreme Metal Music/Rockshots Records on December 8.




Metal talk © All written site content is copyright 2008-2018, unless otherwise stated, and is not to be used without prior permission.