Terminal Nation Take Absolute Control With Their Latest Brutal Release
metal talk
instagram Facebook Twitter RSS
metal talk

jools green
Jools Green
25th June 2017

terminal nation

When an album puts a smile on my face as huge as 'Absolute Control', the latest release from Arkansas hardcore/powerviolence/grind outfit Terminal Nation did, then I know I am onto something special.

Saying that, hardcore that comes in this extreme isn’t for everyone - you either get it, it you don’t.

It’s one of those albums that just sideswipes me into next week; it’s an utterly nuts listen that the more you delve into it, the more it unravels new depths you just don’t realise existed on that first listen.

terminal nation

Your first impression is the brutality factor, coming from that powerviolence aspect and then you begin to notice a strong but subtly delivered socio-political message that you expect from hardcore/grind, as well as the well delivered Hardcore breakdowns adding a catchy aspect without softening the sound.

I love the vocals; predominantly clear in their delivery of the lyrics, yet ranging from a growl that is almost Death Metal to a grind snarl as well as a higher acidic vocal delivery, one of the many benefits of having two people covering the various vocal elements.

The pace is so broad, from slow and loose with precise riffs and plodding slack drums, which, when the pace elevates become mechanically maniacal in a heartbeat, there’s a mid hardcore punchy pace with chanting vocals and when it suddenly bursts into powerviolence it is breathtakingly slick in its execution.

The bass lines, when prominent, are loose with a slight groove and that sits so well with the Punk laden and dissonant riffs. There's also a bit of a Metal edge lurking in there too and some interesting guitar techniques, some slightly thrashy, have been slipped in briefly here and there.

In classic grind/powerviolence style the album is nine tracks spanning a tight twelve minutes, of which when I attempted to select favourite tracks found I’d highlighted over half the release; there's something to grab your attention on every track.


1. Assembly Line
2. Numb To The Pain
3. Grave
4. War In The Name
5. Hand That Feeds
6. Pulse Of The Dead
7. Violator/Violated
8. Absolute Power, Absolute Control
9. Broken

'Absolute Control' should appeal to fans of Despise You, Weekend Nachos and Suicidal Tendencies and maybe even Napalm Death. I found it an utterly fascinating listen that is deceptively complex. It's available now as a cassette from Deep Six Records or digital right here.



Metal talk © All written site content is copyright MetalTalk.net 2008-2018, unless otherwise stated, and is not to be used without prior permission.