metal talk
instagram Facebook Twitter RSS
metal talk
'Nekrofeist' EP
(Independent Release)
Release Date: May 2010

Richard Hall

richard hall


Nekrofeist are an Australian thrash Metal band consisting of Dave Tinelt (vocals), Damon Bishop (guitar), Paul Gilroy (drums) and Rob Giles (bass).

The line up came together in 2008 and the band soon found themselves putting out two iTunes singes and recording videos to accompany the songs. The videos were well received and had heavy rotation on Australian TV, Rage and MTV Classic.

Article continues below...

In 2009 they went into the studio to record their first EP. In May 2010 the EP was out in Australia and available via iTunes. The EP was well received by the Australia Music Press and given plenty of radio airplay.

The band have received a number of plaudits and quite frankly I'm not surprised at all. From the open riff to the final chord of this EP the band show just how versatile they are. All four songs are classic thrash songs which don't actually sound like anyone I've heard before... but also sound so familiar!

The EP opens with 'Dominiputris' and starts off in fine style with a bass intro that leads into a crunching, groove based, aggressive guitar riff. Dave's vocals come in and we get a taste for his low range, gravely vocals which are delivered with an emotion missing from so many bands these days. Finally the drumming on this track is excellent, Paul seems to want to smash his kit up but is as solid as they come.

Everything slows down and get less aggressive when 'Destroyed' comes in. This song is probably my favourite on the EP. The opening is a slow tension building piece slowly picking up speed into the main riff. It's then a little standard – quiet bit, loud bit, repeat. However then a bridge comes in complete with some military style snare drum work and the riff and vocals following the same rhythm. This really changes the song, sounds fantastic and makes the overall song that bit more interesting. It does repeat the structure but it keeps the listener entertained and it start to show that the band have different sides to their playing and writing.

Next up we get 'Choke' which is a groove based track with a main riff that has you nodding your head from the start. It's not quite as interesting as the previous two tracks but is well written and sounds great.

The last track is 'Government Ruins'. This is probably the fastest track on the EP and it's a straight forward thrasher of a track, opening with some nice effective guitar and drum work. The vocals again show that Dave has a strong voice with an impressive range. As the song progresses there is some nice double bass drum work underpinning the guitar work.

As I said at the start this band sound different but also familiar there are sounds of influences from the likes of Anthrax, Pantera and Megadeth but they have taken these influences and created their own sound and I love it.

There is only one thing wrong with the EP for me... it's only four tracks!

The band have an album due out this year and I'm looking forward to hearing it and hoping that at some point soon they manage to get to the UK for some live shows.




Wacken Winter Nights 2018 takes place between February 23rd and 25th 2018 and the great news is that you can now experience a full-on, top class German Metal Festival easily and affordably.

It only takes an hour to fly to Hamburg from London and we've had longer journeys than that within the capital and they were certainly more expensive than the £33 air ticket that just appeared in our 'flights to Wacken Winter Nights' search.


Wacken Winter Nights is organised by the same team who are responsible for the world's greatest Metal festival, Wacken-Open-Air and the 2018 bill includes Skyclad, Orphaned Land, Elvenking, Finntroll, Grave Digger, Aeverium, Comes Vagantes, Coppelius, Corvus Corax, Die Pressgëng, Elvellon, Heimataerde, Hell-O-Matic, Ignis Fatuu, Ingrimm, Irdorath, Johnny Deathshadow, Krayenzeit, Letzte Instanz, Mr Hurley und die Pulveraffen, Pampatut, Pat Razket, Schandmaul, Sündenrausch, The Aberlour's, The Moon And The Nightspirit, Torfrock, Visions Of Atlantis, Vroudenspil, Wind Rose and more.

Besides this rich billing of superb Metal bands, there is so much more to see in the festival area including the medieval market and also the walking acts and jugglers you will meet at the theme worlds, including Robert Blake, three-time World Cup winner of street magic.

Wacken Winter Nights is something not to be missed and you can check out the amazing ticket and accommodation prices right here.

We just priced up the whole four day trip with hotels, flights, shuttles and festival tickets for less than £300 and we don't think you will get a better value festival than that, anywhere.


MetalTalk recently sat down with Wacken founder and owner Thomas Jensen and that interview will be online next week and it's a fascinating insight into how Wacken originated from nothing to become the world's premiere Heavy Metal event.


Wacken 2018 takes place from 2nd to 4th August 20218 and as with Wacken Winter Nights, if you have never experienced all it has to offer, then you owe it to yourself to remedy that.

Already announced for Wacken 2018 are Judas Priest, Nightwish, Running Wild (exclusive), Arch Enemy, Dirkschneider, Doro (Special Anniversary Show), In Extremo, Sepultura, Amorphis, Amaranthe, Firewind, W.A.R., Belphegor, Mantar, Knorkator, Deserted Fear, Watain, Night Demon, Epica, Knorkator, Belphegor, Firewind, Deserted Fear and many more and we'll have more Wacken 2018 announcements during December.

As well as being the greatest Heavy Metal festival in the world, it is without a doubt the Mecca of Metal and the one thing that every single person who loves our music should have on their bucket list.

For 2018, MetalTalk have joined forces with Wacken-Open-Air to help you get to Wacken easily and inexpensively and you can peruse the ticket and travel options right here.

If you are interested in going to Wacken 2018 and have questions, please fill out the form below and we will contact you with answers to all your enquiries. You are under no obligation whatsoever by filling this form out. We won't add you to any mailing lists or send you loads of spam - all we will do is help you get to Wacken as easily and inexpensively as possible.



Your Email Address:

Travelling To Wacken From:

Your Telephone Number:

Your Enquiry:


metal talk © All written site content is copyright 2008-2017, unless otherwise stated, and is not to be used without prior permission.