metal talk
Type band name, album name, artists name etc here...
Search all our articles by typing band name, album name, artists name etc here...
metal talk
'Black Gold' (B sides and covers versions)

DJ Angel

dj angel


Jettblack is a contemporary hard rock band from High Wycombe, England. They have previously released two studio albums, 'Get Your Hands Dirty' and 'Raining Rock'.

I wasn't sure what to expect from Jettblack releasing a B sides and covers cd so soon in their career; is it a risky move or a great way to keep the Jettblack fans happy until the next full studio album?

The opening track from 'Black Gold' is 'Raining Gold' and features Damon Johnson of Thin Lizzy/Black Star Riders. It's a slow track, not really a hard thumping song, but it does have a very rhythmic chorus.

Article continues below...

Track two 'Feel The Love', featuring the second guest artist Ian Paice, is more like the rocking tune style that I know Jettblack are, it has punchy twiddly guitars and the good hard rock vocals as well as a good bluesy feel, maybe this should have been the opening track of the album.

I have to say tracks such as 'Weapon' and the AC/DC cover 'Let Me Put My Love Into You' have me armchair grooving. There are no more than three cover versions on this CD, so as well as the AC/DC cover version you get Heart's classic track 'Barracuda' and Motorhead's 'Name In Vain' which all have been given the Jettblack twist. These do give the cd a good vibe and it also shows how they are influenced, a great tribute to classic rock bands.

The acoustic tracks do not really do too much for me, but I have to say that if I was wanting to sit back and have a chilled music night they would be ideal. I look forward to hearing the next saga in the Jettblack career.

Jettblack are a good hard rocking British band and credit where credit is due, their popularity is increasing with each appearance and CD that encroaches. I look forward to hearing the next cd and seeing if they can improve on their stance as a band.

Track list:
01. Black Gold (featuring Damon Johnson) - new edited version.
02. Feel The Love (featuring Ian Paice of Deep Purple) - from the 'Raining Rock' sessions, previously digital only.
03. Weapon - from the 'Raining Rock' sessions.
04. Fade Away - from the 'Get Your Hands Dirty' sessions.
05. Let Me Put My Love Into You (AC/DC cover) - previously only available on a cover-mounted CD.
06. Red Horizon (acoustic) - previously unreleased.
07. Barracuda (Heart cover) - previously unreleased.
08. Name In Vain (Motorhead cover) - previously unreleased.
09. War Between Us (acoustic) - previously digital only.
10. Not Even Love (acoustic) - previously digital only.
11. Sunshine (acoustic) - previously digital only.
12. Prison Of Love (acoustic) - previously digital only.
13. Black Gold - full album version.

Band Members:
Will Stapleton: Vocals, Guitar
Tom Wright: Bass
Matt Oliver: Drums
Jon Dow: Vocals, Guitar




metal talk © All written site content is copyright 2008-2018, unless otherwise stated, and is not to be used without prior permission.