Metal talk
Type band name, album name, artists name etc here...
Search all our articles by typing band name, album name, artists name etc here...
Metal talk
'Left In The Dark'
(Ear Music)
Release Date: 4th July 2014

Ian Sutherland

ian sutherland


When Tarja Turunen toured in support of her third solo studio album release, 'Colours In The Dark', she put together an album of outtakes and demos which was given away to ticket holders in some territories. Now this has been made available to buy which is probably fair to those that didn't or couldn't make shows where it was available.

The tracklisting of the album mirrors the tracklisting of 'Colours In The Dark' itself and what you get is different versions of the songs on the original release. They mostly take the form of fairly polished sounding demos although there are also some live versions, the duet 'Medusa' sung this time by Tarja solo and even an instrumental version of 'Deliverance' in case you want to know what Tarja's music sounds like without Tarja!

The only song from 'Colours In The Dark' not reworked here is the cover of Peter Gabriel's 'Darkness', instead you get a studio version of 'Into The Sun', previously only available in live form on the 'Act 1' and 'Beauty & The Beat' albums.

Article continues below...

The Finnish metal diva is an acquired taste and this album is mostly outtakes and aimed at her large committed fanbase but I found it a surprisingly enjoyable listen. It's pretty mellow and doesn't have much in the way of full on metal contained within its' ten songs but unlike many outtakes albums there are no really rough demos here and everything is of very listenable quality.

If you are a fan of Ms Turunen then this is something you'll probably enjoy having in your collection and there's more to enjoy than just the new version of 'Into The Sun' which is there to entice you.


1. Victim Of Ritual (First Demo)
2. 500 Letters (Live At Vorterix Radio) *
3. Lucid Dreamer (Demo) *
4. Never Enough (Demo Progression) *
5. Mystique Voyage (Demo) *
6. Into The Sun (Studio Version)
7. Deliverance (Instrumental)
8. Neverlight (Full Orchestra Version)
9. Until Silence (Live At Vorterix Radio) *
10. Medusa (Tarja's Solo Version)


beer beer beerbeerbeer



Metal talk © All written site content is copyright 2008-2018, unless otherwise stated, and is not to be used without prior permission.