metal talk
Type band name, album name, artists name etc here...
Search all our articles by typing band name, album name, artists name etc here...
metal talk

'The Garden Party'
(Cherry Red)

mark taylor

martin turner wishbone ash

Original Wishbone Ash vocalist and bassist Martin Turner and band held a private garden party in the summer of 2012 in the plush surroundings of Liscombe Park Studios watched by a hundred invited guests plus a few leadless dogs running around and horses sticking their necks out of the stables to witness a historic gig in the forty year career of all things Wishbone Ash.

I was one of the lucky few to receive an invite and it was truly a most memorable day.

Fortunately the day was recorded for this CD, as on the day there was a technical glitch with one of the speakers but thankfully the sound has now been fully restored for everyone's listening pleasure.

Article continues below...

Playing two sets of rarely played songs, the first half was performed by the current line-up with the solo track 'Broken Down Houses' getting a rare outing plus a new tune in 'Mystify Me' which incidently has been left of this release but will no doubt be included on the new studio album expected later this year.

The running order has been juggled around a little to what it was on the day but this by no means takes away any of the feeling or enjoyment of this historic occasion.

martin turner wishbone ash

A rarely performed 'Valediction' featured perfect harmonious vocals from Ray Hatfield and Danny Wilson before a cheer was raised when original guitarist Ted Turner joined them on stage. Turner stayed on stage for a delightful 'The King Will Come' and to sing 'Why Don't We'.

Another surprise was in store when Turner's original replacement Laurie Wisefield made an appearance for the clinical 'Living Proof' but jaws dropped when missing in exile for two decades drummer Steve Upton got up on stage and said a few words but sadly didn't play. The hard blues work out of 'Jail Bait' saw Turner and Wisefield perform together for the first time in twenty one years.

Grown men went home that day with happy memories blowin' free. This is a must have release for any lover of the Wishbone Ash family tree.

martin turner wishbone ash


Disc One
1. Standing In The Rain
2. Rest In Peace
3. Haunting Me
4. Lady Jay
5. Fire Sign
6. The Pilgrim
7. Way Of The World
8. No Easy Road

Disc Two
1. Doctor
2. Broken Down House
3. Valediction
4. The King Will Come
5. Prelude
6. In The Skin
7. Why Don't We
8. Living Proof
9. Jailbait

martin turner wishbone ash

martin turner wishbone ash

Photos by Noel Buckley

beer beer beerbeerbeer



metal talk © All written site content is copyright 2008-2018, unless otherwise stated, and is not to be used without prior permission.