metal talk
instagram Facebook Twitter RSS
metal talk

jeff kunze
Jeff Kunze


Tesla celebrate the 30th birthday of the multi-platinum selling 'Mechanical Resonance' by releasing a live rendition of the historic album. Simply titled 'Mechanical Resonance Live!', it features live recordings of the entire album along with one new studio track. The songs were recorded last year while on tour with Def Leppard.

The band, hailing from Sacramento, California, formed in 1985 under the name City Kidd, which dated back to 1982. Taking a suggestion from management the name changed to Tesla after the inventor Nikola Tesla. Four of the players that created the iconic album are still in the band, Frank Hannon (guitar), Jeff Keith (vocals), Troy Luccketta (drums), and Brian Wheat (bass). The new guy, Dave Rude (guitar), joined Tesla in 2006 as he replaced guitar player Tommy Skeoch.

'Mechanical Resonance' was released in 1986 and the band hit the road with Alice Cooper, David Lee Roth, Poison, and Def Leppard. 'Modern Day Cowboy' was the first single and the video was put on rotation on MTV and quickly put the band on the map as Tesla hit a wave that would propel them to become one of the most enduring hard rock American bands to grace a stage. 'Little Suzi' was the next release and the Tesla machine was off and rolling.

Article continues below...

Listen to 'Mechanical Resonance Live' right here...

On this album the songs are captured in their purest form. No bells or whistles, just a band playing them with the same soul it took to create them thirty years ago. The guitars are loud, the rhythm section spot on and the vocals are delivered with an attitude that only Jeff Keith can supply.

What makes this special is being able to hear some of the songs that haven't made set-lists for decades. Songs like 'Cover Queen' and 'Before My Eyes' are dusted off and given some new life. All the classic cuts sound fantastic from the ripping 'Comin' Atcha Live' and 'Rock Me To The Top' to the emotional 'We're No Good Together'. Favorites, 'Modern Day Cowboy' and '2 Late 4 Love' hit hard and remind exactly why these songs were so loved when first heard so many years ago.


The bonus studio track, 'Save The Goodness' was written and produced by Phil Collen of Def Leppard. It's a very classic sounding Tesla song equipped with a catchy hook and memorable chorus.

'Mechanical Resonance Live!' is a cool spin on the album that started it all for Tesla. It's an enjoyable ride hearing these songs in a modern day setting being performed to fans from decades ago to people that may be just hearing these songs for the first time.

Track Listing:
1. Rock Me To The Top
2. Ez Come Ez Go
3. Getting' Better
4. Comin' Atcha Live
5. Changes
6. Before My Eyes
7. 2 Late 4 Love
8. We're No Good Together
9. Love Me
10. Cover Queen
11. Little Suzi
12. Modern Day Cowboy
13. Save The Goodness

Listen to 'Mechanical Resonance Live' right here...




metal talk © All written site content is copyright 2008-2018, unless otherwise stated, and is not to be used without prior permission.