Krokus Plug In The Jukebox With Some Smoking Big Rocks
metal talk
instagram Facebook Twitter RSS
metal talk
Krokus: 'Big Rocks'
Released: 30th January 2017 (Century Media)

29th January 2017

mark taylor
Words: Mark Taylor


Swiss rollers Krokus pay tribute to the bands that inspired them with a dirty dozen of classic jukebox record breakers.

Krokus have provided plenty of their own classics in their forty year plus career with text book air guitar greats including headbanging tracks such as 'Heatstrokes', Long Sticks Goes Boom' and even the more recent 'Hoodoo Woman' which have cemented their reputation as one of the finest ever European Heavy Metal bands.

Krokus are no strangers to a stomping cover version, having had past success with versions of 'American Woman' and the US friendly hits of 'Ballroom Blitz' and 'Schools Out'.

The Germanic countries have always known what a great party band Krokus are and this album provides the perfect soundtrack for any rock'n'roll celebration.


Most of these inspiring tracks date back from the late 60s/early 70s and Krokus haven't strayed away too far from the original versions but you can be assured that they've plugged in and turned the volume to ten.

Krokus have sensibly kept away from any AC/DC covers as Marc Storace was a possible replacement for Bon Scott and many fans felt that some of their 80s output was superior to what was coming out from Down Under but there is a version of 'House Of The Rising Sun', a track that Brian Johnson also did with Geordie.

Every track here is a joyous romp of heads down, no nonsense rocking. The most surprising highlight is the version of the mighty 'Quinn The Eskimo', penned by Bob Dylan but popularised by Manfred Mann, and Krokus really nail their studs into this sixties dream.

A reworking of their own 'Backseat Rock 'N Roll' ends what is a non essential album but one that is a bloody good blast.

Go on, stick a nickel in the jukebox and watch your longstick go boom!

beer beer beerbeerbeerbeer beer beerbeerbeer

N.I.B. (originally by Black Sabbath) (1:16)
Tie Your Mother Down (originally by Queen) (3:43)
My Generation (originally by The Who) (2:57)
Wild Thing (originally by The Troggs) (3:49)
The House Of The Rising Sun (originally by The Animals) (4:22)
Rockin' In The Free World (originally by Neil Young) (3:49)
Gimme Some Lovin' (originally by Spencer Davis Group) (3:33)
Whole Lotta Love (originally by Led Zeppelin) (4:27)
Summertime Blues (originally by Eddie Cochran) (3:32)
Born To Be Wild (originally by Steppenwolf) (3:53)
Quinn The Eskimo (originally by Bob Dylan) (3:35)
Jumpin' Jack Flash (originally by The Rolling Stones) (4:18)
Backseat Rock N' Roll (Krokus original recording) (7:23)

Krokus line-up:
Marc Storace: Lead Vocals
Chris von Rohr: Bass, Vocals
Fernando von Arb: Guitars, Vocals
Mark Kohler: Guitars
Mandy Meyer: Guitars
Flavio Mezzodi: Drums


metal talk © All written site content is copyright 2008-2018, unless otherwise stated, and is not to be used without prior permission.