1st August 2019


Hawkwind will release their 32nd studio album, 'All Aboard The Skylark', on 25th October 2019 via Cherry Red Records.

'All Aboard The Skylark' marks a storming return to Hawkwind's space rock roots, while 2019 marks the beginning of the band's 50th Anniversary year.

Musically the solid quartet of Dave Brock (guitar, vocals, keyboards), Richard Chadwick (drums), Niall Hone (bass, keyboards) and Magnus Martin (guitar, vocals) have created a tight, psychedelic groove that runs through the spine of the album, but embraces each musician's individual talents along the way.

Opener 'Flesh Fondue' is a classic Hawkwind space rock number; alien creatures feeding on the inhabitants of planets, carried by Brock's characteristic guitar and vocals and underpinned by Chadwick's superb rhythm and hypnotic drum fills.

'Nets Of Space' is a bass driven trip, complimented by swirling guitar loops and rhythmic drumming while the conceptual 'Last Man On Earth' and 'We Are Not Dead... Only Sleeping' leads us headlong into the free-spirited psychedelic groove of 'All Aboard The Skylark'.

The contemplative '65 Million Years Ago', with haunting Brock vocals is followed by the melodic lament, 'In The Beginning', which leads to the expansive and multi-layered 'The Road To...', and closes with 'The Fantasy Of Faldom', which is based on a Hermann Hesse fairytale. This is an exciting and unmissable addition to the Hawkwind canon.


Following a live tour, when Hawkwind opened their own shows with an acoustic set, the band went into the studio and recorded 'Acoustic Daze', acoustic versions of some classic Hawkwind tracks. This is the bonus disc of 'All Aboard The Skylark'.

Including 'Psy Power', 'Down Through The Night' and 'We Took The Wrong Step Years Ago', this shows another fascinating side to the band. Stripping back the songs to their roots doesn't dilute any of the raw power, highlighting the depth and musical perception that Hawkwind have forged over the past fifty years.

The 50th Anniversary celebrations this year have already seen the band headline the acoustic stage at Glastonbury and play a headline slot at Graspop in Belgium, alongside a host of other UK and European festivals, including a free Easter festival for their Hawkwind Passport Holder fan club.

They’ve been nominated for awards and are planning a special 50th Anniversary Hawkfest for the end of the year. There will be a nationwide tour in November culminating in a show at the prestigious Royal Albert Hall on November 26th.

Hawkwind 2019 Tour Dates:
Sunday November 10th: Theatre Royal, Brighton Monday November 11th: Grand Opera House, York Tuesday November 12th: Corn Exchange, Ipswich Wednesday November 13th: The Anvil, Basingstoke Friday November 15th: Albert Hall, Manchester Saturday November 16th: The Queens Hall, Edinburgh Sunday November 17th: O2 Academy, Glasgow Monday November 18th: Corn Exchange, Cambridge Tuesday November 19th: Anson Rooms, Bristol Wednesday November 20th: Tramshed, Cardiff Friday November 22nd: Rock City, Nottingham Saturday November 23rd: Town Hall, Birmingham Sunday November 24th: Empire, Coventry Monday November 25th: G Live, Guildford Tuesday November 26th: Royal Albert Hall, London Tickets are on sale right here.

'All Aboard The Skylark' tracklisting: Flesh Fondue
Nets Of Space
Last Man On Earth
We Are Not Dead... Only Sleeping
All Aboard The Skylark
65 Million Years Ago
In The Beginning
The Road To...
The Fantasy Of Faldum

'Acoustic Daze' tracklisting:
Psy Power
Hymne To The Sun
The Watcher
Generator Door
Micro Man
Intro The Night
Down Through The Night
Flying Doctor
Get Yourself Together
Ascent Of Man
We Took The Wrong Step Years Ago



© All written site content is copyright MetalTalk.net 2008-2019, unless otherwise stated, and is not to be used without prior permission.