metal talk
metal talk
  1st February 2010


2010 will see the Tygers of Pan Tang celebrate the 30th Anniversary of the `Wildcat` album, the band's first and most iconic recording. The album was released during the heyday of the NWOBHM movement and captures the real spirit of the music scene in the UK in 1980. The band at the time was a young four piece and after charting in the UK top forty albums at No 15 this album proved to be the springboard for three more albums in two years with various line ups until the band decided to disband in 1983.

Robb Weir who originally formed the band in 1978 has resurrected the Tygers with a new line up culminating in the release of the album `Animal Instinct` in 2008 to worldwide critical acclaim. As `Wildcat` is very close to Robb's heart we have decided to pick his top five tracks and re-record these to celebrate and remind the fans of the quality of the album which may have been long forgotten.

The songs will be re-arranged to utilise modern technology and recorded by the 2010 line up which is:-

Rob Weir - Guitars
Dean Robertson - Guitars
Brian West - Bass
Craig Ellis - Drums
Jacopo Meille - Vocals

The songs to be included are:-

Slaves to Freedom
Suzy Smiled
Don't Touch Me There

The Five track EP will be recorded late January and be available for pre-sale exclusively from the Tygers website/shop in February.

We expect to dispatch the EP to buyers in early March 2010.

This will be a Limited Edition of 1000 copies, have new artwork and will only be available from the website and live shows. We will also be looking at some commemorative Shirts which will also be sold via the website from March onwards.

For all enquiries please contact the Tygers of Pan Tang via the website contact page.

Thank you for your continued support as always.



metal talk © All written site content is copyright 2008-2018, unless otherwise stated, and is not to be used without prior permission.