metal talk
metal talk
  23rd April 2010


iced earth

SPV/Steamhammer have announced that the planned release of Iced Earth's 'Box of the Wicked' will be on May 18th.

This exclusive box set is limited 2,500 copies in the U.S. and will retail at under $40.

The 'Box of the Wicked' includes the digipak version of 2007's 'Framing Armageddon', the digipak single of 'Overture of the Wicked', the digipak version of 2008's 'The Crucible of Man', the digipak single of 'I Walk Among You' and a bonus CD featuring a re-recorded version of 'A Charge to Keep' from 'Framing Armageddon' with Matt Barlow on vocals.

There will also be three previously unreleased live tracks from the 2008 Graspop Festival in Belgium as well as a high quality 12-page booklet with never before seen photos and liner notes, plus an exclusive poster.

Here are all the details and track listings:

Digipak CD - 'Framing Armageddon'

1. Overture
2. Something Wicked (Part 1)
3. Invasion
4. Motivation of Man
5. Setian Massacre
6. A Charge to Keep
7. Reflections
8. Ten Thousand Strong
9. Execution
10. Order of the Rose
11. Cataclysm
12. The Clouding
13. Infiltrate and Assimilate
14. Retribution Through the Ages
15. Something Wicked (Part 2)
16. The Domino Decree
17. Framing Armageddon
18. When Stars Collide (Born is He)
19. The Awakening

Digipak Single - 'Overture Of The Wicked'

1. Ten Thousand Strong
2. Prophecy (re-recorded version of the original from 1998 with Tim "Ripper" Owens on vocals)
3. Birth of the Wicked (re-recorded version of the original from 1998 with Tim "Ripper" Owens on vocals)
4. The Coming Curse (re-recorded version of the original from 1998 with Tim "Ripper" Owens on vocals)

Digipak CD - 'The Crucible Of Man'

1. In Sacred Flames
2. Behold The Wicked Child
3. Minions Of The Watch
4. The Revealing
5. A Gift Or A Curse
6. Crown Of The Fallen
7. The Dimension Gauntlet
8. I Walk Alone
9. Harbringer Of Fate
10. Crucify The King
11. Sacrificial Kingdoms
12. Something Wicked (Part 3)
13. Divide Devour
14. Come What May
15. Epilogue

Digipak Single - 'I Walk Among You'

1. I Walk Alone
2. Setian Massacre (re-recorded version of the 'Framing Armageddon' track with Matt Barlow on vocals)
3. The Clouding (re-recorded version of the 'Framing Armageddon' track with Matt Barlow on vocals)

Bonus CD (cardboard sleeve)

1. A Charge To Keep (re-recorded version of the "Framing Armageddon" track with Matt Barlow on vocals)
2. Dark Saga (previously unreleased, Live At Graspop Festival, Belgium June 2008)
3. Iced Earth (previously unreleased, Live At Graspop Festival, Belgium June 2008)
4. Pure Evil (previously unreleased, Live At Graspop Festival, Belgium June 2008)

Also Includes:

High Quality 12 page booklet with never before seen photos and liner notes
Full Colored A1 Poster



Wacken Winter Nights 2018 takes place between February 23rd and 25th 2018 and the great news is that you can now experience a full-on, top class German Metal Festival easily and affordably.

It only takes an hour to fly to Hamburg from London and we've had longer journeys than that within the capital and they were certainly more expensive than the £33 air ticket that just appeared in our 'flights to Wacken Winter Nights' search.


Wacken Winter Nights is organised by the same team who are responsible for the world's greatest Metal festival, Wacken-Open-Air and the 2018 bill includes Skyclad, Orphaned Land, Elvenking, Finntroll, Grave Digger, Aeverium, Comes Vagantes, Coppelius, Corvus Corax, Die Pressgëng, Elvellon, Heimataerde, Hell-O-Matic, Ignis Fatuu, Ingrimm, Irdorath, Johnny Deathshadow, Krayenzeit, Letzte Instanz, Mr Hurley und die Pulveraffen, Pampatut, Pat Razket, Schandmaul, Sündenrausch, The Aberlour's, The Moon And The Nightspirit, Torfrock, Visions Of Atlantis, Vroudenspil, Wind Rose and more.

Besides this rich billing of superb Metal bands, there is so much more to see in the festival area including the medieval market and also the walking acts and jugglers you will meet at the theme worlds, including Robert Blake, three-time World Cup winner of street magic.

Wacken Winter Nights is something not to be missed and you can check out the amazing ticket and accommodation prices right here.

We just priced up the whole four day trip with hotels, flights, shuttles and festival tickets for less than £300 and we don't think you will get a better value festival than that, anywhere.


MetalTalk recently sat down with Wacken founder and owner Thomas Jensen and that interview will be online next week and it's a fascinating insight into how Wacken originated from nothing to become the world's premiere Heavy Metal event.


Wacken 2018 takes place from 2nd to 4th August 20218 and as with Wacken Winter Nights, if you have never experienced all it has to offer, then you owe it to yourself to remedy that.

Already announced for Wacken 2018 are Judas Priest, Nightwish, Running Wild (exclusive), Arch Enemy, Dirkschneider, Doro (Special Anniversary Show), In Extremo, Sepultura, Amorphis, Amaranthe, Firewind, W.A.R., Belphegor, Mantar, Knorkator, Deserted Fear, Watain, Night Demon, Epica, Knorkator, Belphegor, Firewind, Deserted Fear and many more and we'll have more Wacken 2018 announcements during December.

As well as being the greatest Heavy Metal festival in the world, it is without a doubt the Mecca of Metal and the one thing that every single person who loves our music should have on their bucket list.

For 2018, MetalTalk have joined forces with Wacken-Open-Air to help you get to Wacken easily and inexpensively and you can peruse the ticket and travel options right here.

If you are interested in going to Wacken 2018 and have questions, please fill out the form below and we will contact you with answers to all your enquiries. You are under no obligation whatsoever by filling this form out. We won't add you to any mailing lists or send you loads of spam - all we will do is help you get to Wacken as easily and inexpensively as possible.



Your Email Address:

Travelling To Wacken From:

Your Telephone Number:

Your Enquiry:


metal talk © All written site content is copyright 2008-2017, unless otherwise stated, and is not to be used without prior permission.