metal talk
metal talk
28th October 2010


Metal Mind Productions is proud to present the re-release of 'Stand Up' - the third full-length album by Final Conflict, an internationally acclaimed progressive rock band from Stoke-On-Trent, UK.

The album, originally released in 1997 by German label Angular Records, quickly gained an 'out of print' status and became a highly desired item on such sites as Ebay. This exclusive re-release takes another glimpse at this truly talented band.

Article continues below...

Final Conflict was formed in 1985 by founder members Andy Lawton and Brian Donkin, The band has established their own distinctive style of music and has been recognized for this worldwide. The line up of experienced musicians features the dual guitar and vocal talents of Andy Lawton and Brian Donkin, the magical keyboard skills of Steve Lipiec, and the two newest recruits to the band - Barry 'Savage' Elwood on bass guitar and the very talented Henry Rogers on drums and percussion.

The band's debut album 'Channel 8' was released in 1987, closely followed by 'The Time Has Arrived' in 1989, both on the band's own Future Records label. They then signed to GAIA Records and released 'Redress The Balance' in 1991, followed by the concept album 'Quest' in 1992.

The band then signed to Angular records in Germany and in October 1997 the next album 'Stand Up', probably their most well-known album, was released. The 4th CD album 'Hindsight' was released on the band's own Gaolhouse label at the end of 2003, and was widely reviewed as the best FC album yet. FC then started work on the next album 'Simple'.

A celebration of 21 years making progressive music, it features completely new recordings of the highlights from the first two cassettes and CD albums, along with much new material intended for release in 2005. 'Simple' was sadly delayed due to the unfortunate death of drummer Chris Moyden after losing a long battle with cancer. His loss was a great blow to FC both personally and musically.

'Simple' was eventually released in December 2006 to widespread critical acclaim. During 2007 and 2008 FC gigged extensively both in the UK and abroad, and continued to generate an increasingly substantial fan base both in the live arena and on the internet. FC's success was acknowledged in 2007, when they were nominated in 5 categories at The Classic Rock Society's BOTY awards. They were voted second best band and Henry Rogers was second best drummer.

In 2008, at the same awards, they were presented with the MD's award by Steve Hackett of Genesis. February 23rd 2009 saw the release of FC's first live DVD and CD entitled 'Another Moment in Time', which has received huge critical acclaim and raised the profile of the band yet further on the World stage. 2010 will see the re-release of 'Stand Up', remastered and featuring 2 bonus tracks. The band are currently working hard in their own Gaolhouse Studio, writing and recording their next album entitled 'Return of The Artisan' which is scheduled for release in 2011.

The remastered version of 'Stand Up' includes 2 bonus tracks: 'Moment In Time', a new version of an older track and 'Losing It All', a brand new, previously unreleased track, also recorded in 2010. The new digipak edition is limited to 2000 copies. Metal Mind Productions set the release date for January, 3rd 2011 in Europe and January, 11th 2011 in USA (via MVD).

Final Conflict: Stand Up (remastered + bonus tracks)

1. Stand Up
2. Signature In The Sand
3. Whiteline Highway
4. Wasteland
5. 11
6. T230
7. Days Gone By
8. Miss D Meanour
9. Omen
10. Stop

Bonus tracks:
11. Moment In Time (new version recorded in 2010)
12. Losing It All (brand new previously unreleased track)


metal talk © All written site content is copyright 2008-2018, unless otherwise stated, and is not to be used without prior permission.