metal talk
metal talk
28th July 2011


Opeth's tenth album 'Heritage', the follow up to 2008's 'Watershed' and 2005's 'Ghost Reveries', is their strangest, most genre-melding to date.

For starters it includes guest spots from Swedish flautist/composer Björn J:son Lindh and Weather Report percussionist Alex Acuña.

Article continues below...

As you may have guessed, it also includes 100% clean singing. Main man Mikael Åkerfeldt refers to Opeth records as "observations." Of this one he notes, "It feels like I've been building up to write for and participate on an album like this since I was 19."

Fittingly, he says he listened to a bunch of Alice Cooper over the past year. There's also something youthful about the exuberant blend of jazz upswings, "God is dead" lyrics, and stop-on-a-dime tempo shifts in lead single 'The Devil's Orchard.'

On the album it follows the two-minute scene-setting opening piano piece 'Heritage', a song Åkerfelt says was inspired by Swedish jazz pianist Jan Johansson and Swedish folk music. That in mind, take a listen to Heritage's first explosive moment.

Click here to listen to the new track...


01 Heritage
02 The Devil's Orchard
03 I Feel The Dark
04 Slither
05 Nepenthe
06 Haxprocess
07 Famine
08 The Lines In My Hand
09 Folklore
10 Marrow Of The Earth

Heritage is out September 20th via Roadrunner. Åkerfeldt produced the record and mixed it with Porcupine Tree frontman/guitarist Steven Wilson. Travis Smith worked with Åkerfeldt to create the album artwork.



Here's a fabulous Aerosmith pictorial document as seen through the lens of famed British photographer Tony Mottram. Tony photographed the band over many years for various magazines and now has a monthly column here on MetalTalk.

As was often the case, only one photo ever got published and in the fast moving world of weekly magazines sometimes entire sessions would be done and left undeveloped.

Tony started shooting Aerosmith from towards the end of the period with Jimmy Crespo and Rick Dufay and onwards through the return of original members Joe Perry and Brad Whitford that resulted in the albums 'Done With Mirrors', 'Permanent Vacation' and 'Pump'.


As well as shooting the band several times in England, this collection includes images from a session at the band's rehearsal room in Boston. Littered throughout is a mixture of live and off stage photos including a selection of photos taken at London's famous Marquee club when they were joined on stage by Jimmy Page.

This limited edition hardback book, presented in a flight case and printed on silk paper, is an opportunity to own a unique selection of photos, most of which have never seen the light of day before.

This unique item is presented in an aluminium flight case and will be published in late November. Earlybird subscribers who order by 31st October will have their name printed within a dedicated page in the book.

To be sure not to miss out on this unique, future collector's item, hit the PayPal button here:

Publication date: 31st November 2017
ISBN: 978-1-908724-81-6
Format: Casebound.
Pages: 128 pages, printed on 170 gsm, silk paper.
Size: A4 landscape.


metal talk © All written site content is copyright 2008-2017, unless otherwise stated, and is not to be used without prior permission.