metal talk
Type band name, album name, artists name etc here...
Search all our articles by typing band name, album name, artists name etc here...
metal talk
23rd May 2013

jon oliva

Savatage and Jon Oliva's Pain mastermind Jon Oliva will release his first-ever solo album, 'Raise The Curtain', on June 21st in Europe and July 2nd in North America via AFM Records.

The 11-song album, which contains ideas collected over the course of the last four or five years, was recorded this past winter at Morrisound Studios in Tampa, Florida with producer Tom Morris, with Jon laying down nearly all the instrument tracks and vocals himself as well as playing drums on three songs.

'Raise The Curtain' will be released simply under the banner Oliva and you can expect a mixture of Jon's early influences and the material he wrote and recorded throughout his whole career.

Article continues below...

'Raise The Curtain' track listing:

01. Raise The Curtain
02. Soul Chaser
03. Ten Years
04. Father Time
05. I Know
06. Big Brother
07. Armageddon
08. Soldier
09. Stalker
10. The Witch
11. Can't Get Away
12. The Truth (bonus track)

'Raise The Curtain' will be made available as a CD digipak (first pressing) and two-LP vinyl (gatefold, limited to 800 copies worldwide).

Jon Oliva's Pain drummer/producer Christopher Kinder said: "Oliva will be the first to admit that it took one hell of a challenge writing, performing 90% of all the tracks himself and vocals... he is exhausted, for sure."

He added: "It's a very interesting and powerful offering. Diverse, emotional, and varying styles of writing and music everywhere. A truly great accomplishment for the mountain king, indeed."

Last summer, Jon Oliva's Pain toured Europe where they celebrated the 25th anniversary of one of Heavy Metal's most iconic records, 'Hall Of The Mountain King' by Savatage. Click here for MetalTalk's review of the London gig.


metal talk © All written site content is copyright 2008-2018, unless otherwise stated, and is not to be used without prior permission.