metal talk
Type band name, album name, artists name etc here...
Search all our articles by typing band name, album name, artists name etc here...
metal talk
30th May 2013


Long running German Celtic Metal institution Suidakra are no strangers when it comes to the international market; they visited these shores only last year on the road with then tenth album 'Book Of Dowth', but this week saw the release of the new chapter in the Suidakra story, the concept album 'Eternal Defiance', and it sees the band moving forward again.

Two new video clips, the first for gripping track 'March Of Conquest', and the second, a track- by- track summary of the new album from main man Arkadius, who has been at the helm of the band since its formation, are on line now and can both be seen at the bottom of this page.

Article continues below...

Vocalist and main song writer Arkadius takes you through the concept, the work of producer and all-round 'good egg' Kris Verwimp, who helped heavily with the illustration, the comic book booklet that accompanies the limited edition, and the story, and gives you the full low down on enthralling tracks, such as 'Beneath The Read Eagle' and 'Dragon's Head', so check it out below...

Suidakra's pioneering work in the Metal scene is without equal. Even before terms like 'Pagan' became well known in musical circles, the band had played and evolved their own sound, a unique blend of melodic death Metal, traditional Heavy Metal influences and Celtic folk elements that became a source of inspiration for a whole load of young bands.

Suidakra though themselves now soldier on determined to keep fresh, and they should now understand just how determined and huge their loyal fan base is. After the release of their latest album 'Book Of Dowth' (2011) for example, tours of Europe, USA, India and China led the band (centered on front man Arkadius), nearly once around the entire world, and the band has played to fans in all continents of the earth.

That the band are still true to their roots but also developing, will be unmistakably clear once you listen to new album, 'Eternal Defiance'.

On the one hand, they've again worked with the proven team at Gernhart Studio (Destruction) and also continued working with Tina Stabel (female vocals) and Kris Verwimp (story concept, cover art and illustrations), but all were involved more than ever before this time, Stabel (like piper Axel Römer) even contributing to songwriting, whilst Verwimp supplied the lyrical concept of 'Eternal Defiance', which is based liberally on the history and mythology of the Welsh story 'The Dream Of Macsen Wledig'. His illustrations then support the story perfectly, and the booklet developed into a comic which now accompanies the limited edition Digipak.

The concept story itself was the perfect template for Suidakra's main songwriter Arkadius. Bandleader for many years now, Arkadius has had an interest in epic movie soundtracks since day one. So, enriching the sound of Suidakra with orchestral sounds and arrangements for this album was an easy decision. Whoever thought that the usual heaviness of the band would now disappear under the weight of this orchestration though, will surely be proved wrong. 'Eternal Defiance' is the perfect blend of haunting melodies, epic moments, heavy sound and full-on emotion.

After all their many, many releases, Suidakra again still reveal new aspects, even reinventing themselves again and again. The new album is full of songs, full of intense heaviness - as we knew it would be. But, it clearly shows how much skill and passion has gone into the making of it. While other concept albums only work in their entirety, Suidakra again have taken the greatest care to ensure that all these songs work individually and can stand on their own, whilst working also as a whole.

Mission accomplished.

Band Line Up:
Arkadius - Guitars, Vocals, Keys, Banjo
Lars - Drums
Jussi - Guitars
Tim - Bass

Track Listing:
01. Storming The Walls
02. Inner Sanctum
03. Beneath The Read Eagle
04. March Of Conquest
05. Pair Dadeni
06. The Mindsong
07. Rage For Revenge
08. Dragon's Head
09. Defiant Dreams
10. Damnatio Memoriae
11. Mrs. McGrath (Bonus Track)


metal talk © All written site content is copyright 2008-2018, unless otherwise stated, and is not to be used without prior permission.