metal talk
Type band name, album name, artists name etc here...
Search all our articles by typing band name, album name, artists name etc here...
metal talk
17th October 2011


The wait is nearly over. In less than two weeks legendary US Metal outfit Riot release their hugely anticipated fourteenth album 'Immortal Soul' worldwide via SPV/ Steamhammer in all territories except Japan.

The release dates are: Scandinavia October 26th, Germany/Austria/Switzerland October 28th, Rest of Europe October 31st, US/Canada November 22nd.

To give the fans a taste of what to expect, the song 'Still Your Man' has been revealed today on soundcloud and you can listen by scrolling down to the bottom of this page.

Article continues below...

'Immortal Soul' sees Tony Moore, Mark Reale, Don Van Stavern and Bobby Jarzombek - the line-up responsible for the band's hugely acclaimed 'Thundersteel' (1988) and 'The Privilege Of Power' (1990) albums - re-united once more, together with Mike Flyntz who as the additional live guitarist helped bring these two acclaimed albums to life on stage.

Riot are justifiably proud of their upcoming release. As bassist Don Van Stavern says: "'Immortal Soul' picks up where 'Thundersteel' left off, 20 years later! It has the same intensity, creativeness and passion that we put into our music. It's another ball buster and I can't wait to unleash it on the masses."

Guitarist Mike Flyntz is equally as enthusiastic. "I have been performing the songs from the 'Thundersteel' era for over 21 years. It has been an honour to write and record 'Immortal Soul' with Tony, Don, Bobby, and Mark. I am very proud of my contribution to this record and also very proud to play along with such inspirational musicians. I hope everyone enjoys this album as much as I do."

For drummer Bobby Jarzombek, "'Immortal Soul' is a special record for me because in all the years that I've been playing and recording various projects, I've never been completely involved in any other CD from the very first day of writing, to the very last day of mixing. I'm really looking forward to the live shows, and including some new 'Immortal Soul' songs into the set along with the Riot classics!"

Founding member and guitarist Mark Reale, who has been Riot's guiding force since the band released 'Rock City' over thirty years ago, is quick to pay tribute to vocalist Tony Moore's input. "To me, the close collaboration with each of our vocalists has always been the decisive aspect in any RIOT release. That's why it was absolutely inspiring for me at the studio that Tony directly took up many of my ideas and translated them brilliantly, or contributed his own suggestions from which our songs benefited greatly. He is simply the perfect Riot frontman!"

And as Tony Moore himself points out, "It's been nearly a quarter of a century since the five of us assembled in New York to create 'Thundersteel' and 'The Privilege Of Power', and the music world couldn't be more different.

The internet led us not only to discover that those albums had taken a special place in the history of Metal, but also put us back in touch - and the result is 'Immortal Soul', an album that is 100% true to the legacy of those 1980s recordings. It's also packed with evidence of how we've all grown and changed as artists. It was recorded in five studios, in three different cities, and it's absolutely a product of the most important changes in the recording industry over the last 20 years. We're looking forward to sharing the details with our fans and friends around the world, along with the music. Enjoy!"

'Immortal Sin' Limited Digipak incl. Two Bonus Tracks

1. Riot
2. Still Your Man
3. Crawling
4. Wings Are For Angels
5. Fall Before Me
6. Sins Of The Father
7. Majestica
8. Immortal Soul
9. Insanity
10. Whiskey Man
11. Believe
12. Echoes
13. Johnny`s Back (live)

Bonus track
14. Metal Soldiers (live)

'Immortal Sin' will also be released as double gatefold LP in colored vinyl with printed inner sleeves, standard jewel version and download.

RIOT Still Your Man by Steamhammer/SPV


metal talk © All written site content is copyright 2008-2018, unless otherwise stated, and is not to be used without prior permission.