metal talk
Type band name, album name, artists name etc here...
Search all our articles by typing band name, album name, artists name etc here...
metal talk
30th March 2012

The Hammer Has Fallen

Sabaton have announced a major split of the current band with guitarists Oskar Montelius and Rikard Sundén, drummer Daniel Mulback and keyboardist Daniel Mÿhr all departing the band.

Vocalist Joakim Bróden and bassist Pär Sundström will continue as Sabaton with new, yet to be announced members. The below statement was posted on the band's official website, however the official site crashed just after the announcement was made and at the time of writing, it is still not back online.

Article continues below...

No word of the news has yet been confirmed by the band's label Nuclear Blast. Sabaton have a new album, 'Carolus Rex, due out in May and a major headling US Tour confirmed.

The full statement on the band's website read as follows:

"Starting a band at the age of 18 is simple, keeping it intact for 12 years is much harder, and finally we have come to the crossroad where we will go separate ways.

"Pär Sundström and Joakim Brodén will continue to battle on stage, carrying the banner of Sabaton to further victories.

"We will always have an eternal bond to each other, created by more than 12 years of friendship & touring, and wish each other long and prosperous lives with families, various projects and musical careers.

"In the end, all six of us will end up in our own glorious future..."

The band has not commented on the upcoming US tour. More information is expected shortly.

And here's an exclusive video interview with Joakim Bróden. We can now exclusively reveal that the US tour will definitely go ahead and that Joakim and Pär have already rehearsed with the new line-up. Click here for the video interview.


metal talk © All written site content is copyright 2008-2018, unless otherwise stated, and is not to be used without prior permission.