metal talk
Type band name, album name, artists name etc here...
Search all our articles by typing band name, album name, artists name etc here...
metal talk
10 December 2013

Italy's Martiria are to release a brand new album 'R-evolution' on Rocksector Records, on 10th February 2014.

The band includes former-Black Sabbath, Dio, and Heaven and Hell drummer Vinny Appice. The release celebrates the 10th anniversary of Martiria's first album release 'The Eternal Soul' in 2004.

Based in Rome, Martiria was originally formed in 1987, focusing mainly on doom metal. After several years delay while the members pursued alternative projects, the band re-grouped in 2002, released the debut album in 2004 and a further 4 albums up to and including 2012's 'Roma S.P.Q.R.'

Article continues below...

A small number of line-up changes occurred through these years - former members include Rick Anderson (Warlord) - culminating in the 2013 line-up which has recorded the new release.

With music written by Andy Menario and lyrics written by Marco R. Capelli, the album was mixed and mastered at Antfarm Studio, Denmark, by producer Tue Madsen (The Haunted, Mnemic, Hatesphere, Ektomorf). Drums were recorded at Freedom Studio (USA) by Thomas Le Blanc.

The resulting style of 'R-evolution' is a combination of the band's original doom metal vision including references to the sounds of Candlemass and Black Sabbath, mixed with the uplifting influences of classic and power metal.

There's drama and poetry in the lyrics, while the soundscape is epic and moving. Finally, of course the drumming of Vinny Appice adds a further dimension of undeniable quality.

The relationship with Vinny Appice was forged when in 2006 both Andy Menario and Marco R. Capelli worked with the drummer on the Power Project, which also featured Carl Sentance (ex-Krokus), Carlos Cavazo (ex-Quiet Riot), and Jeff Pilson (ex-Dokken).

'R-evolution' will be released on CD into UK and Europe, and digitally worldwide, on 10th February 2014. A pre-order package will be available from 10th January.

Watch the trailer and hear the first song from the album here:

Martiria are:
Andy Menario - guitar and keyboards
Flavio Cosma - vocals
Derek Maniscalco - bass
Vinny Appice - drums
Marco R. Capelli - lyrics



metal talk © All written site content is copyright 2008-2018, unless otherwise stated, and is not to be used without prior permission.