17th May 2016

air force

WatchOut Records is very pleased and proud to announce the following: "On 15th July 2016 we will release the first full studio album by London based rockers Airforce: 'Judgement Day'.

"After the 2015 release of the 'Origins Of Iron' compilation album where Airforce supplied one track, 'War Games', the collaboration between WatchOut Records and Airforce went on. Airforce had enough recording material on the shelf so a small chat with founding member and guitarist Chop Pitman was enough to decide to do a full Airforce album.

"Ex-Iron Maiden drummer Doug Sampson (The Soundhouse Tapes) was so overwhelmed by all the response he got during the release party of the 'Origins Of Iron' album and later on during the Legacy Charity concert he attended, he decided to get behind the drumkit again. The new Airforce with Fred Ball (vocals and bass), Chop Pitman (guitar) and Doug Sampson (drums) recorded three new tracks and with eight tracks from the past the album was complete. The album is available right now in presale in a few different limited editions on"

Article continues below...

Limited handnumbered boxset (20 copies only)
CD in special tin
Album on old school cassette
Doug Sampson drumsticks
Chop Pitman guitar pick
Fred Bass bass pick
Airforce pin badge
Airforce sticker
Album A4 artwork
WatchOut Records sticker
Signed band photo
Your name in CD booklet

Sign Me Up bundle (20 copies only)
Signed band photo
Your name in the CD booklet

Pick Me Up bundle (20 copies only)
Chop Pitman guitar pick
Fred Ball bass pick
Your name in the CD booklet

Stick With Me bundle (20 copies only)
Pin badge
Airforce sticker
Album artwork sticker
Your name in the CD booklet

'Judgement Day' Tracklist:
1. Why Has It Come To This (1993)
2. Heroes (2010)
3. Just Say No (2016)
4. War Games (1987)
5. The Silence (2010)
6. Get Me A Doctor (2016)
7. Blood From A Stone (1987)
8. Melody In Me (1993)
9. Fine Line (2010)
10. The Falcon (1987)
11. Judgement Day (2016)

Airforce recording line ups:

1987: Vocals: Sam Sampson, Guitar: Chop Pitman, Bass: Tony Hatton, Drums: Doug Sampson, Keyboards: Jez Code

1993: Vocals: Rolf Prommel, Guitar: Chop Pitman, Bass: Tony Hatton, Drums: Doug Sampson, Keyboards: Jez Code

2010: Vocals: Sebastian Bolocan, Guitar: Chop Pitman, Bass: Neil Thompson, Drums: Ian Jacklin

2016: Vocals: Fred Ball, Guitar: Chop Pitman, Drums: Doug Sampson

Produced by Andy Holloway and Erwin Lucas for WatchOut Records
Artwork by Baz Crowcroft
Sleeve notes by Erwin Lucas
Merchandise by Andy Holloway

Since their inception in 1989 Airforce enjoyed much local success with Chop Pitman on guitar, Doug Sampson ex-drummer of Iron Maiden, Sam "Tomcat" Sampson on vocals (formerly of Sam Apple Pie) and Tony Hatton on bass guitar. This original classic rock band from London names various artists as it's chief influencers, such as Black Sabbath, Van Halen and Judas Priest, amongst others.

Rolf Promel took over from Sam Sampson on vocals and was responsible for a lot of writing for the band and he was also the vocalist on a live recording. Chop is quoted as saying: "'Why Has It Come To This', 'Fine Line' and 'Melody In Me' stick out as examples of his contribution to the band. He (Rolf) joined before Keith Haggis and was a big part of Airforce... great song writer."

Keith Haggis was added to the line-up as a second lead guitarist. In 1999 Mick Dietz took over from Doug Sampson on drums until 2001 when the guys disbanded. Airforce was reborn when Chop took to the stage once again after being introduced to a bass guitarist in 2008 who, due to work commitments, had been out of the music scene for a while.

The ideal mix was found in 2009 after various drummers and vocalists were considered, finally settling on Dee Dyaz for vocals and Ian Jacklin on drums who had enjoyed stints with Slade, Alvin Stardust, Bay City Rollers and had even had chart success with Fiction Factory in the early 80s.

Dee, sadly, had to be replaced after family commitments became a priority. Sebastian Bolocan took over for a while but Freddy Ball now fronts the newly invigorated rock band on lead vocals and bass guitar. And since 2015 Doug Sampson returned to the seat behind the drumkit.

They may have had a stuttering re-start but this true addition to British rock Music now works extremely well together and perform some real rocking tracks. They are writing new songs as well as revamping old material to a higher production standard. All members of Airforce play a variety of instruments and contribute to new material, musically as well as lyrically. And as a result their melodies are instantly memorable and bass lines are punchy and driven. Sticking to the the very core of their early influences, Airforce fly the flag for the London Rock scene.



© All written site content is copyright 2008-2019, unless otherwise stated, and is not to be used without prior permission.