metal talk
instagram Facebook Twitter RSS
metal talk
29th January 2018


Cult New York Heavy Metallers and Godfathers of Power Metal Riot V were inducted into the Hall Of Heavy Metal History last week in Anaheim, California alongside Black Sabbath drummer Bill Ward, Dream Theater keyboardist Jordan Rudess, Anvil, Lzzy Hale and bass virtuoso Billy Sheehan amongst other Metal royalty, all honoured for their contributions and influence on the Metal community.

And today, the band have revealed that they will release their sixteenth album, entitled 'Armor Of Light', on April 27th 2018.

The album was produced by Chris 'The Wizard' Collier (Metal Church, Flotsam & Jetsam, Slipknot, Korn) and the cover artwork was created by Mariusz Gandzel (Crystal Viper).

Don Van Stavern told us:

"I am honoured and psyched to be inducted into this year's Hall Of Heavy Metal History with Riot!. Our 30-plus years in existence is a testament to the longevity of a band through the fan's love of our music.

"I am also honoured to be inducted alongside legendary musicians like Bill Ward from Black Sabbath, Carmen Appice and of course last year's recipients, the greats Lemmy, Randy Rhoads and Dio and that's an honour and award itself!"


The new songs on 'Armor Of Light' promise to please fans of Riot's 'Thundersteel' era, as main song writer and long-time Mark Reale music collaborator Don Van Stavern undertook a lot of the writing process, as he did on 'Thundersteel', 'The Privilege Of Power' and the latest offering, 'Unleash The Fire'. Don adds:

"This next offering will please long time fans and create new ones - the material is fresh and Power Metal at its finest."

Since their legendary 1977 debut album, 'Rock City', Riot have released numerous Heavy Metal classics, including 'Fire Down Under' which included 'Swords And Tequila', their 1988 masterpiece 'Thundersteel' and the unforgettable 'The Privilege Of Power' from 1990.


After the death of Mark Reale and the departure of Tony Moore, Todd Michael Hall completed the line-up of the band, which in the meantime performed under the name of Riot V under the auspices of the two long-term members and main songwriters Donnie van Stavern (bass) and Mike Flyntz (guitar).

With 2014s critically acclaimed 'Unleash The Fire' (2014), a pure Power Metal pearl once again underlined the musical importance and influence of the quintet.


metal talk © All written site content is copyright 2008-2018, unless otherwise stated, and is not to be used without prior permission.