metal talk
instagram Facebook Twitter RSS
metal talk
18th February 2018


Where were you in 79? Saxon's self-titled debut album was originally released on 21st May 1979 and is arguably the first NWOBHM album to be recorded and it's part of a re-release package featuring the first three albums from the British road warriors.

The debut album ultimately put them on the map as one of the bands spearheading the movement that was sweeping the nation at the end of the seventies. This version includes their early demo when the band were called Son Of A Bitch, some early BBC session tracks and some live songs from the inaugural Monsters Of Rock festival.


The CD and LP versions of all three albums contain original lyrics, rare photos and memorabilia. The vinyl versions will be coloured splatter/swirl vinyl. The CD version will be a twenty-four page media book. The debut album tracklist is:

1. Rainbow Theme
2. Frozen Rainbow
3. Big Teaser
4. Judgement Day
5. Stallions Of The Highway
6. Backs To The Wall
7. Still Fit To Boogie
8. Militia Guard

CD Bonus Tracks
9. Big Teaser (demo 1978)
10. Stallions Of The Highway (demo 1978)
11. Backs To The Wall (demo 1978)
12. Rainbow Theme (demo 1978)
13. Frozen Rainbow (demo 1978)
14. Backs To The Wall (BBC session 1980)
15. Stallions Of The Highway (BBC session 1980)
16. Motorcycle Man (BBC session 1980)
17. Still Fit To Boogie (BBC session 1980)
18. 747 (Strangers In The Night) (BBC session 1980)
19. Judgement Day (BBC session 1980)
20. Still Fit To Boogie (Live at Donington 1980)
21. Backs To The Wall (BBC session 1980)
22. Stallions Of The Highway (BBC session 1980)


Saxon'’s second album, 'Wheels Of Steel', was originally released in 1980 and propelled the band to stardom, going gold in the UK and spawning two top 40 singles –in '‘747 (Strangers In The Night)' and 'Wheels Of Steel'’, which have remained live favourites to this day.

'Wheels Of Steel' is hailed as a Heavy Metal classic and a genre defining moment. This version includes some rare demos and live tracks from the inaugural Monsters Of Rock festival, held at Castle Donington in 1980. The tracklist is:

1. Motorcycle Man
2. Stand Up And Be Counted
3. 747 (Strangers In The Night)
4. Wheels Of Steel
5. Freeway Mad
6. See The Light Coming
7. Street Fighting Gang
8. Suzie Hold On
9. Machine Gun

CD Bonus Tracks
10. Suzie Hold On (1980 demo rehearsals)
11. Wheels Of Steel (1980 demo rehearsals)
12. Stallions Of The Highway (Live B-side)
13. Motorcycle Man (Live at Donington 1980)
14. Freeway Mad (Live at Donington 1980)
15. Wheels Of Steel (Live at Donington 1980)
16. 747 (Strangers In The Night) (Live at Donington 1980)
17. Machine Gun (Live at Donington 1980)


Third album 'Strong Arm of The Law' was originally released in 1980, a mere six months after 'Wheels Of Steel', to capitalise on the band's rollercoaster success. Like its predecessor, this album is heralded as a timeless, Heavy Metal classic and many of its songs remain live favourites today, over thirty years after its initial release. This version includes a BBC session, some remixes and an early demos. The tracklist is:

1. Heavy Metal Thunder
2. To Hell And Back Again
3. Strong Arm Of The Law
4. Taking Your Chances
5. 20,000 FT
6. Hungry Years
7. Sixth Form Girls
8. Dallas 1PM

CD Bonus Tracks
9. 20,000 FT (BBC session 1982)
10. Dallas 1PM (BBC session 1982)
11. The Eagle Had Landed (BBC session 1982)
12. 747 (Strangers In The Night) (BBC session 1982)
13. To Hell And Back Again (Abbey Road mix)
14. 20,000FT (Abbey Road mix)
15. Mandy (Early version of Sixth Form Girls)
16. Heavy Metal Thunder (Abbey Road mix)

Check out this short video teaser:


Saxon's twenty-second studio album, 'Thunderbolt', was released this month via the Militia Guard label (Silver Lining Music) and has hit the Top 30 in the official UK charts. At number 29, it's their highest chart position since 1984s 'Crusader' album.

Now the dates for the second part of the British Metal road warriors' 'Thunderbolt' Tour are in and they include a date at the iconic Roundhouse in London, the venue where Motörhead played their first ever gig in July 1975.

Y&T and Wayward Sons are the support on all dates.

Thunderbolt 2018 European Tour - Part One
Friday 23rd February: UK, Cardiff University
Saturday 24th February: UK, Cambridge Corn Exchange
Sunday 25th February: UK, Hull City Hall
Tuesday 27th February: Holland, Tilburg 013
Wednesday 28th February: Germany, Saarbruecken Garage
Thursday 1st March: Germany, Hannover Capitol
Friday 2nd March: Germany, Frankfurt Batschkapp
Saturday 3rd March: Germany, Dresden Schlachthof

Thunderbolt 2018 UK Tour - Part Two
Thursday 18th October: Glasgow Barrowlands
Friday 19th October: London Roundhouse
Saturday 20th October: Portsmouth Guildhall
Sunday 21st October: Manchester Academy

Part Two European dates to be announced very soon. Part One of is sold out but tickets for Part Two are available right here.

Biff Byford tells us:

"We're gonna be bringing the tour back into the UK and Europe in the Autumn, playing some classic venues with some classic bands... it's going to be special – BRING IT ON!"

The new album Thunderbolt features original Artwork by long time Saxon collaborator Paul Raymond Gregory and Biff adds:

"This is album twenty-two and it's called 'Thunderbolt'. It's a storming, smashing, thundering collection of tracks we've been crafting with producer Andy Sneap."

Andy Sneap was named last week as Glenn Tipton's replacement in Judas Priest for the forthcoming 'Firepower' tour. Glenn is unable to take part in the tour due to health reasons but remains a part of Priest. You can read the full story right here.

Saxon and Black Star Riders are support on the North American leg of the 'Firepower' tour. 'Thunderbolt' was featured in last week's edition of You Spin Me Round which you can check out here.


metal talk © All written site content is copyright 2008-2018, unless otherwise stated, and is not to be used without prior permission.