metal talk
instagram Facebook Twitter RSS
metal talk
You Spin Me Round: Edition Twelve - Monday January 29th 2018

30th January 2018

you spin me round

"This album soars. You couldn't find a better singer to interpret these songs than Beth Hart. She pushes Joe Bonamassa to produce some astonishing performances."

Edition Twelve of MetalTalk's album review radio show, You Spin Me Round, is available on our On Demand page now and features staggeringly good new albums from Orphaned Land, Laurence Jones, Janet Gardner, Heidevolk, Raintimes, Junk and a significant re-release from Rush.

Also featured is 'Black Coffee', the new offering from Beth Hart/Joe Bonamassa. It's been four years since the critically acclaimed, Grammy nominated, and #1 Billboard Blues album 'Seesaw', was released by the pair and now they have reunited for another collection of scorching interpretations of ten gems made famous by Edgar Winter, Ray Charles, Etta James, Ella Fitzgerald, Lucinda Williams and more.

You can here the audio review with tracks from the album in this week's show right here. Robert Adams reviews and you'll find it at the end of part two. There's some great new music to discover in the whole show so listen at your leisure.

Here's the running order for this week's show:

Part 1:

1. Orphaned Land: 'Unsung Prophets And Dead Messiahs' (Century Media) reviewed by Liz Medhurst
"A band who have always had a message that was as strong as their music, and no exception here. The piece is an absolute masterpiece. Come for the Metal, stay for the message or vice versa. Whatever, this album is powerful, beautiful, disturbing and profound."

Tracks: 'We Do Not Resist', 'Take My Hand', 'Chains Fall To Gravity'

2. Laurence Jones: 'The Truth' (Independent) reviewed by Andy Rawll
"Although there’s plenty of Laurence’s lithe licks to sate fans of his undoubted fretful skill, this is predominantly an album of well-crafted songs raised for radio. This highly enjoyable album proves that Laurence Jones is more than ready to follow friends and mentors, like Kenny Wayne Shepherd to mainstream success."

Tracks: 'Gone Away', 'The Truth'

3. Janet Gardner: 'Janet Gardner' (Pavement) reviewed by Johnny Main
"This album is full of promise and only gets better as you work your way through the album. Hard and heavy are the watch-words here and the album is an unrelenting forty-five minute journey."

Tracks: 'Your Problem Now', 'If You Don't Want Me'

4. Raintimes: 'Raintimes' (Frontiers) reviewed by Steve Ritchie
"Solid gold, top class AOR with punchy guitars and a great sing along chorusWhile we no longer have shoulder pads and Blockbusters, if a modern take on a classic melodic rock theme is your cup of tea, then grab a big cup and immerse yourself in this record."

Tracks: 'Forever Gone', 'Don't Ever Give Up'

5. Accept: 'Metal Heart' (live)

Part 2:

1. Rush: 'A Farewell To Kings - 40th Anniversary Edition' (UMC) reviewed by Johnny Churchill
"It’s got a timeless dreamy feel and some absolutely superb musicianship. It’s a genuinely classic album, a masterclass in progressive rock and re-packaged in style with some compelling extras."

Tracks: 'Closer To The Heart', 'A Farewell To Kings' (both live from Hammersmith)

2. Heidevolk: Vuur Van Verzet (Napalm Records) reviewed by Steve Göldby
"Easily their best yet, more varied, many different moods throughout. THe boys have really upped their game in the songwriting stakes."

Tracks: 'Ontvaakt', 'Britannia', 'Tivaz', 'A Wolf In My Heart'

3. Junk: 'Double Soundtrack' EP (Zombie Shark Records) reviewed by Johnny Main
"This may be a short release from Junk but it demonstrates they have a sound musical ability and for a band I'd never heard of last week, they've certainly got my attention now."

Tracks: 'Sasquatch Master', 'Built To Last'

4. Beth Hart/Joe Bonamassa: 'Black Coffee' (Provogue) reviewed by Robert Adams
"This album soars. You couldn't find a better singer to interpret these songs than Beth Hart. She pushes Joe Bonamassa to produce some astonishing performances."

Tracks: 'Give It Everything You've Got', 'Lullaby Of The Leaves'

5: Halestorm: 'Still Of The Night'


You Spin Me Round is presented by Deputy Editor Liz Medhurst and features MetalTalk writers reviewing the albums.

The show is available on MetalTalk Radio from 10.00pm UK Time every Monday night and remains available thereafter on the You Spin Me Round On Demand page here.


metal talk © All written site content is copyright 2008-2018, unless otherwise stated, and is not to be used without prior permission.