metal talk
instagram Facebook Twitter RSS
metal talk
15th September 2017

amberian dawn

Finnish Metallers Amberian Dawn's new album, 'Darkness Of Eternity', will be released by Napalm Records on 10th November and today the brand new lyric video for the song 'Maybe' is premiering here today on MetalTalk.

'Darkness Of Eternity' is Amberian Dawn's eighth album (including one re-recorded compilation), and band mastermind Tuomas Seppälä tells us:

"'Darkness Of Eternity' is one of the most emotional AD albums so far. It's got some really bombastic songs in mood of dark and symphonic melodic Metal and in contrast to that also some really poppy songs too. For me it's really hard to stick in one genre only and I constantly want to compose different kinds of songs!"

amberian dawn

The 'Magic Forest' story continues and Tuomas explains:

"The song 'Symphony Nr.1. Part 1 – The Witchcraft' told the story on the last record 'Innuendo' before the time of 'Magic Forest'. The little girl is a healer and village elders buried her alive in a coffin.

"The track 'Symphony Nr.1. Part 2 – Darkness Of Eternity' on our upcoming record 'Darkness Of Eternity' tells the story of the girl lying in the coffin trying to get out. Darkness is asking her to dance the waltz of eternity. The story will continue in Part 3 and we will tell you how she became the Magic Forest's evil witch!"

amberian dawn

Tuomas also spoke about the recording process:

"We did a lot of production at legendary Finnvox Studios, in Helsinki – Finland: drum recordings, mixing by Mikko Karmila and mastering by Mika Jussila. We also used a live string section on orchestral parts and that added nice colour on the sound.

"It's easy for me to say that this album is without any doubt the best sounding AD album ever! It's a kind of monument for me and it introduces the many sides of me as composer. I still feel very lucky that I've got Capri in this band because she's probably the only singer capable of singing all of those different styles with superior sound and feeling.

"In fall 2016 and spring 2017 I had the honour to visit ABBA's Benny Andersson's studio in Stockholm, Sweden and was allowed to play his personal vintage keyboards and grand piano to be able to catch some of that ABBA-vibe on a couple of 'pop-Metal' songs. I know there's really a huge contrast to those symphonic songs, but I just needed to go even further with this style I started with 'Court Of Mirror Hall' and 'Knock Knock Who's There' on our previous album. So, if you liked those, you'll going to love 'Maybe' and especially 'Sky Is Falling'."

You can catch Amberian Dawn live here:

23rd September: FemMe Metal, De Effenaar, Eindhoven, Holland
6th October: Heavy Metal Heart Festival, Virgin Oil, Helsinki, Finland

amberian dawn

'Darkness Of Eternity' tracklisting:
1. I’m The One
2. Sky Is Falling
3. Dragonflies
4. Maybe
5. Golden Coins
6. Luna My Darling
7. Abyss
8. Ghostwoman
9. Breathe Again
10. Symphony Nr. 1, part 2 – Darkness Of Eternity
11. Anyone (Bonus Track)

judas priest


monsters of rock

Monsters Of Rock In Full Flight is strictly limited to 300 worldwide and is available from 30th November but those ordering before 31st October will have their name published within a dedicated page in the book.

It's a deluxe 128 page hardback book in a metal flight case with a narrative by Jerry Bloom.

When promoter Paul Loasby put on the first Monsters Of Rock Festival in 1980 he could probably never have imagined it would become an annual event that would endure for so many years.

Featuring bands from the UK, Germany, Canada and USA, Loasby chose to stage the event at the Donington race circuit in the middle of England and it would prove to be a defining moment for many of the bands on the bill.

Not least for headliners Rainbow as it was the their last ever show to feature drum legend Cozy Powell. As it would happen it turned out to be the last for vocalist Graham Bonnet as well. For many of the other bands on the bill such as Scorpions, Judas Priest and Saxon, they were all on the ascendancy and would soon go on to even greater success.

Now in celebration of this first ever Monsters Of Rock Festival comes this hardback book full of glorious photos of the bands that took to the stage for that inaugural event including back stage shots. Most of these shots have not been published before which add to the uniqueness of this deluxe 128-page book which is packaged in its own flight case.

Also included are stories surrounding the event with tales and recollections from those who were there, including artists and fans alike. Each book will be signed by the author. The 300 will sell fast and definitely go on to become collector's items so order yours now right here to avoid disappointment.


metal talk © All written site content is copyright 2008-2017, unless otherwise stated, and is not to be used without prior permission.