metal talk
instagram Facebook Twitter RSS
metal talk
24th August 2017


Norwegians Atrox are back after nine years of silence with their sixth album, 'Monocle', released on Dark Essence Records on September 8th, and today, track number two from this dark, atmospheric and catchy prog/industrial opus is premiering here on MetalTalk.

'Monocle' was recorded by guitarist Rune Sørgård and here is 'Vacuum'.

The band collectively told us:

"'Vacuum' is one of the 'wicked boys' from the album. A straight to the point, no bullshit high energy tune with lyrics about the fact that more and more individuals are living their lives on and through the internet. Finding it hard to cope in the outside world.

"The web - where you can edit yourself to death. This song shows a darker side to the band - could we call it 'Norwegian avantgarde Black Metal'?

"Wicked or not, join us on the dark side - we got music."


Atrox have always been something different within the Metal scene. Starting off in 1990 in Trondheim from the ashes of the Death Metal band Suffocation, they could easily be labelled as a melodic Doom Metal band.

After 1997s debut, 'Mesmerized', the band transformed and came back with new members and a totally new sound in 2000 with 'Contentum'. Over the years, more members have changed and their style has progressed for each album.

Now, with 'Monocle', their first album since 2008s 'Binocular', they've fine-tuned their highly progressive, experimental and industrial sound and are back with full force.

'Monocle' shows a darker side of the band, with more epic and atmospheric elements than earlier. At the same time, there are some extremely catchy and upbeat parts throughtout the album, cementing the unique and special sound Atrox have.

It's safe to say they've again progressed further, building on the rich musical legacy of the band since their formation.

  Tours and festival dates will be announced in the near future.


'Monocle' tracklist:
1. Mass
2. Vacuum
3. Heat
4. Finger
5. Suicide Days
6. For We Are Many
7. Movie
8. Target
Atrox are:
Rune Folgerø - vocals
viNd - guitar
Rune Sørgård - guitar and technology
Tor Arne Helgesen - drums
Erik Paulsen - bass


monsters of rock

Monsters Of Rock In Full Flight is stricylt limited to 300 worldwide and is available from 30th November but those ordering before 31st October will have their name published within a dedicated page in the book.

It's a deluxe 128 page hardback book in a metal flight case with a narrative by Jerry Bloom.

When promoter Paul Loasby put on the first Monsters Of Rock Festival in 1980 he could probably never have imagined it would become an annual event that would endure for so many years.

Featuring bands from the UK, Germany, Canada and USA, Loasby chose to stage the event at the Donington race circuit in the middle of England and it would prove to be a defining moment for many of the bands on the bill.

Not least for headliners Rainbow as it was the their last ever show to feature drum legend Cozy Powell. As it would happen it turned out to be the last for vocalist Graham Bonnet as well. For many of the other bands on the bill such as Scorpions, Judas Priest and Saxon, they were all on the ascendancy and would soon go on to even greater success.

Now in celebration of this first ever Monsters Of Rock Festival comes this hardback book full of glorious photos of the bands that took to the stage for that inaugural event including back stage shots. Most of these shots have not been published before which add to the uniqueness of this deluxe 128-page book which is packaged in its own flight case.

Also included are stories surrounding the event with tales and recollections from those who were there, including artists and fans alike. Each book will be signed by the author. The 300 will sell fast and definitely go on to become collector's items so order yours now right here to avoid disappointment.



Here's a fabulous Aerosmith pictorial document as seen through the lens of famed British photographer Tony Mottram. Tony photographed the band over many years for various magazines and now has a monthly column here on MetalTalk.

As was often the case, only one photo ever got published and in the fast moving world of weekly magazines sometimes entire sessions would be done and left undeveloped.

Tony started shooting Aerosmith from towards the end of the period with Jimmy Crespo and Rick Dufay and onwards through the return of original members Joe Perry and Brad Whitford that resulted in the albums 'Done With Mirrors', 'Permanent Vacation' and 'Pump'.


As well as shooting the band several times in England, this collection includes images from a session at the band's rehearsal room in Boston. Littered throughout is a mixture of live and off stage photos including a selection of photos taken at London's famous Marquee club when they were joined on stage by Jimmy Page.

This limited edition hardback book, presented in a flight case and printed on silk paper, is an opportunity to own a unique selection of photos, most of which have never seen the light of day before.

This unique item is presented in an aluminium flight case and will be published in late November. Earlybird subscribers who order by 31st October will have their name printed within a dedicated page in the book.

To be sure not to miss out on this unique, future collector's item, hit the PayPal button here:

Publication date: 31st November 2017
ISBN: 978-1-908724-81-6
Format: Casebound.
Pages: 128 pages, printed on 170 gsm, silk paper.
Size: A4 landscape.


metal talk © All written site content is copyright 2008-2017, unless otherwise stated, and is not to be used without prior permission.