metal talk
instagram Facebook Twitter RSS
metal talk
20th December 2017


Michael Schenker's 'A Decade Of The Mad Axeman' is a retrospective collection that documents the studio and live output of the renowned German guitarist between 2007 and 2016 and the double CD collection is out on 28th January.

From his return to the roots of MSG through to Temple Of Rock and Michael Schenker Fest, the different group line-ups and special guests have attested to the stunning power of his creativity, while critics have unanimously considered the last decade to be one of the most impressive phases of his career to date.

Having enjoyed huge success with Scorpions and UFO, Michael then founded the Michael Schenker Group in 1979. The band continued to exist in various incarnations for thirty years and the acronym MSG (which later also came to represent the line-up with vocalist Robin McAuley as McAuley Schenker Group) enjoyed the accolades of rock music fans worldwide.


2007 saw the release of the acclaimed MSG album, 'In The Midst Of Beauty', with a top notch band of singer Gary Barden, ex-Whitesnake bassist Neil Murray, Toto drummer Simon Phillips and Deep Purple keyboardist Don Airey, the record recalled the spirit of MSG's eponymous 1980 debut album.

Michael put together a new group in 2011, Temple Of Rock, featuring various guest musicians. He released three studio albums and two live productions under the Temple Of Rock banner. Enlisting ex-Rainbow frontman Doogie White and Wayne Findlay on keyboards, the line-up was rounded out with the former Scorpions rhythm section of Francis Buchholz on bass and Herman Rarebell on drums.

Schenker surprised everyone in 2017 with a special live release, recorded in Tokyo in August 2016. Recruiting former MSG singers Robin McAuley, Graham Bonnet and Gary Barden for a series of joint performances, plus old band allies Chris Glen (bass), Steve Mann (guitar, keyboards) and Ted McKenna (drums), what was presented live on stage with this line-up can only be described as a Fest for his fans – which is why he christened this new constellation of musicians the Michael Schenker Fest.


The new Michael Schenker Fest studio album, 'Resurrection', will be released on March 2nd on Nuclear Blast Records and the first single from the album, 'Warrior', is out now.

Produced by Michael Voss-Schoen, the album sees Michael Schenker and the three M.S.G. singers Gary Barden, Graham Bonnet and Robin McAuley, joined by Doogie White (Michael Schenker's Temple Of Rock) as well as Steve Mann (guitars, keyboards), Ted McKenna (drums) and Chris Glen (bass). The album also boasts guest appearances from Kirk Hammett, Wayne Findlay and Michael Voss-Schoen.

Here's the official video for 'Warrior':

'Warrior' is one of two album tracks on which all of the four lead singers appear.

Here's two live Schenker tracks as a taster for 'A Decade Of The Mad Axeman'.

'A Decade Of The Mad Axeman' tracklisting:
The Studio Recordings (CD1)
1 I Want You [2007]
2 Night To Remember [2007]
3 Cross Of Crosses [2007]
4 Ride On My Way [2007]
5 Miss Claustrophobia [2011]
6 Before The Devil Knows You’re Dead [2011]
7 Storming In [2011]
8 How Long (3 Generations Guitar Battle Version) [2011]
9 Lord Of The Lost And Lonely [2013]
10 To Live For The King [2013]
11 Land Of Thunder [2013]
12 Black Moon Rising [2013]
13 Live And Let Live [2014]
14 Rock City [2014]
15 Saviour Machine [2014]
16 Bulletproof [2014]

The Live Recordings (CD2)
1 Welcome Howl [Tokyo 2010]
2 Let Sleeping Dogs Lie [Tokyo 2010]
3 Rock My Nights Away [Tokyo 2010]
4 Attack Of The Mad Axeman [Tokyo 2010]
5 Rock You Like A Hurricane [High Voltage Festival 2011]
6 Hanging On [High Voltage Festival 2011]
7 Doctor Doctor [High Voltage Festival 2011]
8 Armed And Ready [Tilburg 2012]
9 Rock Bottom [Tilburg 2012]
10 Horizons [Madrid 2015]
11 Lights Out [Madrid 2015]
12 Vigilante Man [Madrid 2015]
13 Desert Song [Tokyo 2016]
14 Love Is Not A Game [Tokyo 2016]
15 Doctor Doctor [Tokyo 2016]

Featuring: Don Airey, Gary Barden, Francis Buchholz, Wayne Findlay, Chris Glen, Steve Mann, Robin McAuley, Ted McKenna, Neil Murray, Simon Phillips, Herman Rarebell, Elliott 'Dean' Rubinson, Chris Slade, Brian Tichy, Michael Voss, Pete Way, Doogie White.

Special Guests: Michael Amott, Graham Bonnet, Rudolf Schenker, Jeff Scott Soto, Leslie West.


metal talk © All written site content is copyright 2008-2018, unless otherwise stated, and is not to be used without prior permission.