metal talk
instagram Facebook Twitter RSS
metal talk
24th July 2017


Motörhead Music are to release 'Under Cöver', an album of Motörhead playing cover versions, in September 2017.

The compilation includes an unreleased version of David Bowie's 'Heroes' which was recorded during the 'Bad Magic' sessions in 2015 by Cameron Webb, and was one of the last songs the band recorded together.

Check out the trailer for the album here:

Phil Campbell told us about 'Heroes':

"It's such a great Bowie song, one of his best, and I could only see great things coming out of it from us, and so it proved to be. And Lemmy ended up loving our version."

"He was very, very proud of it,” added Mikkey Dee. "Not only because it turned out so well but because it was fun! Which is what projects like this should be – fun!"

The rest of the album contains loud and proud, raucous and raging rock'n'roll takes on 'the likes of 'God Save The Queen' (Sex Pistols), 'Cat Scratch Fever' (Ted Nugent), 'Shoot 'Em Down' (Twisted Sister), 'Breaking The Law' (Judas Priest) and 'Whiplash' (Metallica), all of which have been previously released other than The Ramones cover 'Rockaway Beach'.

"We were happy with them at the time and we're happy with them now!" affirms Phil, whilst Mikkey says:

"We should remember that it's about having some fun with songs that we all loved."

'Under Cöver' tracklisting:
1. Breaking The Law (Produced by Cameron Webb) 2008
2. God Save The Queen (Produced by Bob Kulick and Bruce Bouillet) 2000
3. Heroes (Produced by Cameron Webb) 2015
4. Starstruck (Produced by Cameron Webb) 2014
5. Cat Scratch Fever (Produced by Peter Solley) 1992
6. Jumpin' Jack Flash (Produced by Bob Kulick and Bruce Bouillet) 2001
7. Sympathy For The Devil (Produced by Cameron Webb) 2015
8. Hellraiser (Produced by Billy Sherwood) 1992
9. Rockaway Beach (Mixed by Cameron Webb) 2002
10. Shoot 'Em Down (Produced by Bob Kulick and Bruce Bouillet) 2001
11. Whiplash (Produced by Bruce Bouillet and Bob Kulick) 2005

Lemmy Kilmister – Bass/Vocals
Phil Campbell – Guitar
Mikkey Dee - Drums


metal talk © All written site content is copyright 2008-2018, unless otherwise stated, and is not to be used without prior permission.