metal talk
instagram Facebook Twitter RSS
metal talk
11th July 2017

quiet riot

Quiet Riot have released a brand new song called 'Wasted', which is taken from their new album, 'Road Rage', which will be released on August 4th via Frontiers Music Srl. You can hear 'Wasted' below.

'Road Rage' was originally scheduled for release in spring this year, but after new vocalist James Durbin joined and the band experienced newfound energy, they decided to scrap the original sessions and record a new version of 'Road Rage' with the new and improved line-up.

Durbin became known as "the Metal guy" on 2011s 'American Idol' after performing 'Living After Midnight' and 'Breaking The Law' with Judas Priest. He joined Quiet Riot in March after the dismissal of Seann Nicols, who recorded the vocals for an early version of 'Road Rage'.

Durbin is joined in Quiet Riot by drummer Frankie Banali, bassist Chuck Wright, who has been in and out of the band since 1982 and guitarist Alex Grossi, a member since 2004.

Frankie Banali said:

"The recordings for the new 'Road Rage' record have been an incredible musical journey in the storied history of Quiet Riot.

"I asked vocalist James Durbin to fill the very large shoes of the late great Kevin DuBrow because I knew he could. While no one can ever replace Kevin DuBrow, he has the same spirit and drive that Kevin had.

"James is an amazing live performer with an insane vocal range, but he is also a very gifted songwriter and brought to the 'Road Rage' record totally unique original lyrics and melodies. Not only do they fit perfectly to the music we wrote, but they took the songs to a completely new level.

"All the work that we have put into this record has been well worth the wait. I am extremely proud of guitarist Alex Grossi, bassist Chuck Wright and especially James Durbin for the work we have created on this record.

"Quiet Riot continues to tour relentlessly and will be on the road throughout the year. Expect to hear your Quiet Riot favourites as well as new songs from 'Road Rage' at our shows."

quiet riot

James Durbin added about joining the band and his work on the new album:

"The crown jewel, on top of joining one of your favourite bands, has to be writing, recording and releasing a new album. No matter what, you are now a part of that band's history and I'm honoured to have had the opportunity to do that with Quiet Riot.

"I spent just over three weeks marathon songwriting brand new lyrics and melodies for every song and recording vocals.

"I'm extremely proud of the 'Road Rage' record, not only that I had the band's support and trust to deliver, or how great of a personal accomplishment and blessing it's been, but that we can keep the Quiet Riot freak flag flying and have the chance to inspire a new generation of fans."

Banali revived Quiet Riot in 2010, three years after Kevin DuBrow's death. They went through two vocalists Mark Huff and Scott Vokoun before settling on Jizzy Pearl in 2013. Pearl announced his exit from the band in October.

Here's 'Wasted', along with 'Freak Flag' which was released last month.

'Road Rage' tracklisting:
1. Can't Get Enough
2. Getaway
3. Roll This Joint
4. Freak Flag
5. Wasted
6. Still Wild
7. Make A Way
8. Renegades
9. The Road
10. Shame
11. Knock Em Down

judas priest


monsters of rock

Monsters Of Rock In Full Flight is strictly limited to 300 worldwide and is available from 30th November but those ordering before 31st October will have their name published within a dedicated page in the book.

It's a deluxe 128 page hardback book in a metal flight case with a narrative by Jerry Bloom.

When promoter Paul Loasby put on the first Monsters Of Rock Festival in 1980 he could probably never have imagined it would become an annual event that would endure for so many years.

Featuring bands from the UK, Germany, Canada and USA, Loasby chose to stage the event at the Donington race circuit in the middle of England and it would prove to be a defining moment for many of the bands on the bill.

Not least for headliners Rainbow as it was the their last ever show to feature drum legend Cozy Powell. As it would happen it turned out to be the last for vocalist Graham Bonnet as well. For many of the other bands on the bill such as Scorpions, Judas Priest and Saxon, they were all on the ascendancy and would soon go on to even greater success.

Now in celebration of this first ever Monsters Of Rock Festival comes this hardback book full of glorious photos of the bands that took to the stage for that inaugural event including back stage shots. Most of these shots have not been published before which add to the uniqueness of this deluxe 128-page book which is packaged in its own flight case.

Also included are stories surrounding the event with tales and recollections from those who were there, including artists and fans alike. Each book will be signed by the author. The 300 will sell fast and definitely go on to become collector's items so order yours now right here to avoid disappointment.


metal talk © All written site content is copyright 2008-2017, unless otherwise stated, and is not to be used without prior permission.