metal talk
instagram Facebook Twitter RSS
metal talk
24th August 2017

robert plant

Robert Plant's eleventh studio album, 'Carry Fire', will be released on October 13th and the former Led Zeppelin frontman will undertake a thirteen date UK tour throughout November and December.

'Carry Fire' will be Plant's first full-length release of new music since 2014 and was produced by the man himself at Top Cat Studio in Wiltshire.

As with his previous releases, the singer has been accompanied by accomplished musicians The Sensational Space Shifters including John Baggott on keyboards, moog, loops, percussion, drums, brass arrangements, t'bal, snare drum, slide guitar, piano, electric piano, and bendir.

Justin Adams plays guitar, acoustic guitars, oud, E-bow quartet, percussion, snare drum, and tambourine, Dave Smith is on bendir, tamourine, djemebe, drum kit and Liam 'Skin' Tyson is on dobro, guitar, acoustic guitar, pedal steel and twelve string.

Article continues below...

The diverse instrumentation of the band goes some way to showcasing the exciting music being generated by Robert Plant. His musical career has seen him team up with a venerable roster of artists, some of which feature as guests on his new album including Chrissie Hynde, Albanian cellist Redi Hasa and violinist Seth Lakeman, who will also join Plant on tour.

Plant says of his new record:

"It's about intention. I respect and relish my past works but each time I feel the trawl and incentive to create new work. I must mix old with new.

"Consequently, the whole impetus of the band has moved on its axis somewhat, the new sound and different space giving way to exciting and dramatic landscapes of mood, melody and instrumentation."

UK tour dates:
16th November: Plymouth Pavilions
17th November: Bristol Colston Hall
20th November: Wolverhampton Civic
22nd November: Llandudno Cymru
24th November: Newcastle City Hall
25th November: Liverpool Olympia
27th November: Glasgow SEC Armadillo
28th November: Perth Concert Hall
30th November: Manchester O2 Apollo
6th December: Sheffield City Hall
8th December: London Royal Albert Hall
11th December: Portsmouth Guildhall
12th December: Birmingham Symphony Hall

Tickets available right here.

'Carry Fire' tracklist:
1. The May Queen
2. New World...
3. Season's Song
4. Dance With You Tonight
5. Carving Up The World Again... A Wall And Not A Fence 6. A Way With Words
7. Carry Fire
8. Bones Of Saints
9. Keep It Hid
10. Bluebirds Over The Mountain
11. Heaven Sent

judas priest


monsters of rock

Monsters Of Rock In Full Flight is strictly limited to 300 worldwide and is available from 30th November but those ordering before 31st October will have their name published within a dedicated page in the book.

It's a deluxe 128 page hardback book in a metal flight case with a narrative by Jerry Bloom.

When promoter Paul Loasby put on the first Monsters Of Rock Festival in 1980 he could probably never have imagined it would become an annual event that would endure for so many years.

Featuring bands from the UK, Germany, Canada and USA, Loasby chose to stage the event at the Donington race circuit in the middle of England and it would prove to be a defining moment for many of the bands on the bill.

Not least for headliners Rainbow as it was the their last ever show to feature drum legend Cozy Powell. As it would happen it turned out to be the last for vocalist Graham Bonnet as well. For many of the other bands on the bill such as Scorpions, Judas Priest and Saxon, they were all on the ascendancy and would soon go on to even greater success.

Now in celebration of this first ever Monsters Of Rock Festival comes this hardback book full of glorious photos of the bands that took to the stage for that inaugural event including back stage shots. Most of these shots have not been published before which add to the uniqueness of this deluxe 128-page book which is packaged in its own flight case.

Also included are stories surrounding the event with tales and recollections from those who were there, including artists and fans alike. Each book will be signed by the author. The 300 will sell fast and definitely go on to become collector's items so order yours now right here to avoid disappointment.


metal talk © All written site content is copyright 2008-2017, unless otherwise stated, and is not to be used without prior permission.