metal talk
instagram Facebook Twitter RSS
metal talk
  SATYRICON NEW ALBUM DETAILS ARE HERE
12th July 2017



satyricon

Satyricon's highly anticipated ninth studio album will be called 'Deep Calleth Upon Deep' and is set for release on 22nd September via Napalm Records.

The album was nearly three years in the making and was recorded in Oslo, Norway and Vancouver, Canada during early 2017 and mixed together with revered studio guru Mike Fraser who previously worked on Satyricon's 2006 album, 'Now, Diabolical'.

'Deep Calleth Upon Deep' is not just a new collection of songs from one of extreme music's most enduring and reliable bands: this is a wholesale reinvention and a brand new era in Satyricon history.

satyricon
photocredit: Marius Viken

Frontman and visionary, Satyr informs us:

"Approaching this release, what I always kept in mind is that either this is the beginning of something new or it's gonna be my last record.

"If this is going to be the last, then it needs to be something special.

"If there are more records, then I'd better make sure that this is so different from the last one that it feels like a new beginning.

"I think it's really, really dark, very spiritual and filled with confidence and energy.

"The way that I see it is that for any art, be it Satyricon or any other form of art with substance, in order for you to be able to inhale and completely understand it, it will take a little bit of you as well. If you get it all after a couple of listens, you know that it probably won't stay with you.

"So the title is saying, 'From the depth of the people making this record to the depth of the listener...'

"If you want to take part in this journey, you should be prepared to dig deep down in the darkest corner of your soul with us."

The album's front cover artwork, as seen above, is an obscure drawing from 1898 by perhaps the greatest Norwegian artist of all time, Edvard Munch.

The band are set to play a one-off UK show at London's Heaven on Friday 29th September as part of a European run of dates. The full dates are here and tickets for London are on sale right here

'Deep Calleth Upon Deep' will be released in digital format, a CD digipak and gatefold vinyl options. Pre-orders will go live in August.

satyricon

Sunday 24th September: Hamburg, Grunspan, Germany
Monday 25th September: Essen, Turock, Germany
Tuesday 26th September: Tilburg, 013, Netherlands
Wednesday 27th September: Vosselaar, Biebob, Belgium
Friday 29th September: London, Heaven, UK
Saturday 30th September: Paris, La Maroquinerie, France
Sunday 1st October: Nantes, MJC De Reze, France
Monday 2nd October: Toulouse, Le Metronum, France
Wednesday 4th October: Madrid, Sala But, Spain
Thursday 5th October: Barcelona, Razzamatazz, Spain
Friday 6th October: Mentpellier, Rockstore, France
Saturday 7th October: Bologna, Zona Roveri, Italy
Monday 9th October: Zurich, Dynamo, Switzerland
Tuesday 10th October: Munich, Backstage Halle, Germany
Wednesday 11th October: Vienna, Szene, Austria
Thursday 12th October: Prague, Akropolis, Czech Republic
Saturday 14th October: Krakow, Kwadrat, Poland
Sunday 15th October: Warsaw, Progresja, Poland
Monday 16th October: Berlin, SO36, Germany
Tuesday 17th October: Copenhagen, Pumpehuset, Denmark
Thursday 19th October: Aarhus, Train, Denmark
Friday 20th October: Gothenburg, Pustervik, Sweden
Saturday 21st October: Stockholm, Klubben, Sweden













 


metal talk © All written site content is copyright MetalTalk.net 2008-2017, unless otherwise stated, and is not to be used without prior permission.