metal talk
instagram Facebook Twitter RSS
metal talk
19th June 2017


British Heavy Metal legends Saxon are to release 'The Solid Book Of Rock' on August 4th 2017. The set comprises not only all nine of Saxon's studio albums from 1991 to 2009 but also eight bonus tracks and two bonus CDs – 'Classics Re-Recorded', originally issued with the initial pressings of 'Killing Ground', and 'Lionheart – Rough Studio Mix', originally issued on the 2006 limited edition.

This Metal-tastic Book Set also contains three bonus DVDs – the limited-edition DVDs originally released with 'Lionheart', 'The Inner Sanctum' and 'Into The Labyrinth'. All this, packaged in a sumptuous twenty-four page 12" x 12" booklet with all the lyrics and credits, plus photos with fabulous brand-new cover painting by Paul R Gregory.

An exclusive limited-edition containing a print signed by the one and only Biff Byford will also be available from Amazon. Biff told us:

"It's worth getting just for the art work. A great piece of Saxon history and don't forget I get to play King Arthur. I didn't get the Oscar that year or anything else for that matter."

The 'Solid Book Of Rock' comprises Saxon's studio albums from 1991 to 2009 – that's a massive nine original albums plus two bonus CDs and three bonus DVDs. The albums are:


1. Solid Ball Of Rock
2. Forever Free
3. Dogs Of War
4. Unleash The Beast
5. Metalhead
6. Killing Ground
7. Lionheart
8. The Inner Sanctum
9. Into The Labyrinth

Book set full tracklist and bonus material are:

Solid Ball Of Rock (1991)
1. Solid Ball Of Rock
2. Altar Of The Gods
3. Requiem (We Will Remember)
4. Lights In the Sky
5. I Just Can't Get Enough
6. Baptism Of Fire
7. Ain't Gonna Take It
8. I'm On Fire
9. Overture In B-Minor / Refugee
10. Bavarian Beaver
11. Crash Dive

Bonus Tracks:
12. Requiem (We Will Remember) [single version]
13. Reeperbahn Stomp

Forever Free (1992)
1. Forever Free
2. Hole In The Sky
3. Just Wanna Make Love To You
4. Get Down And Dirty
5. Iron Wheels
6. One Step Away
7. Can't Stop Rockin'
8. Nighthunter
9. Grind
10. Cloud Nine

Bonus Tracks:
11. Princess Of The Night [live]
12. Forever Free [live]

Dogs Of War (1995)
1. Dogs Of War
2. Burning Wheels
3. Don't Worry
4. Big Twin Rolling (Coming Home)
5. Hold On
6. The Great White Buffalo
7. Demolition Alley
8. Walking Through Tokyo
9. Give It All Away
10. Yesterday's Gone

Bonus Tracks:
11. The Great White Buffalo [live]
12. Denim And Leather [live]

Unleash The Beast (1997)
1. Gothic Dreams
2. Unleash The Beast
3. Terminal Velocity
4. Circle Of Light
5. The Thin Red Line
6. Ministry Of Fools
7. The Preacher
8. Bloodletter
9. Cut Out The Disease
10. Absent Friends
11. All Hell Breaking Loose

Bonus Tracks:
12. Solid Ball Of Rock [live] on SPV 74192 CD in 2007
13. Crusader [live] on SPV 74192 CD in 2007

Metalhead (1999)
1. Intro
2. Metalhead
3. Are We Travellers In Time
4. Conquistador
5. What Goes Around
6. Song Of Evil
7. All Guns Blazing
8. Prisoner
9. Piss Off
10. Watching You
11. Sea Of Life

Killing Ground (2001)
1. Intro
2. Killing Ground
3. Court Of The Crimson King
4. Coming Home
5. Until Hell Freezes Over
6. Dragon's Lair
7. You Don't Know What You've Got
8. Deeds Of Glory
9. Running For The Border
10. Shadows On The Wall
11. Rock Is Our Life

Bonus CD – 'Classics Re-Recorded':
1. Princess Of The Night
2. Crusader
3. Wheels Of Steel
4. Motorcycle Man
5. Strong Arm Of The Law
6. Denim And Leather
7. Dallas 1pm
8. And The Bands Played On

Lionheart (2004)
1. Witchfinder General
2. Man And Machine
3. The Return
4. Lionheart
5. Beyond The Grave
6. Justice
7. To Live By The Sword
8. Jack Tars
9. English Man O'War
10. Searching For Atlantis
11. Flying On The Edge

Bonus CD:
Studio Audio – Rough Mix [moved from the DVD]
1. Witchfinder General
2. Man And Machine
3. The Return
4. Lionheart
5. Beyond The Grave
6. Justice
7. To Live By The Sword
8. Jack Tars
9. English Man O'War
10. Searching For Atlantis
11. Flying On The Edge
12. Beyond The Grave [single version]

Bonus DVD:
1. Lionheart – in the studio [3.32]
2. Lionheart – live [7.40]
3. Beyond The Grave – promo video [3.45]
4. 5.1 96k high end sound mix of the entire album [11 tracks] [45.09]

The Inner Sanctum (2007)
1. State Of Grace
2. Need For Speed
3. Let Me Feel Your Power
4. Red Star Falling
5. I've Got To Rock (To Stay Alive)
6. If I Was You
7. Going Nowhere Fast
8. Ashes To Ashes
9. Empire Rising
10. Attila The Hun

Bonus DVD: 'A Night Out With The Boys' [41.26]
1. To Hell And Back Again
2. A Night Out With Boys – The Idea
3. A Night Out With Boys – Not Really
4. See The Light Shining
5. A Night Out With Boys – How It Started
6. Redline
7. Suzie Hold On
8. Stand Up And Be Counted
9. Frozen Rainbow
10. Never Surrender

Into the Labyrinth (2009)
1. Battalions Of Steel
2. Live To Rock
3. Demon Sweeney Todd
4. The Letter
5. Valley Of The Kings
6. Slow Lane Blues
7. Crime Of Passion
8. Premonition In D Minor
9. Voice
10. Protect Yourselves
11. Hellcat
12. Come Rock Of Ages (The Circle Is Complete)
13. Coming Home [bottleneck version]

Bonus DVD:
1. 'Perceval' – Spanish art film, directed by Pablo Aragues Millan [20.09] [in Latin with subtitles] (Biff plays King Arthur)
2. 'Let There Be Light' – documentary about the live staging and lighting [36.48] [in German with subtitles]
3. Audio interview with Biff Byford – Biff talks about the songs on 'Into The Labyrinth' [18.44]

There's also a new Saxon album on the way, the follow-up to 2015s highly successful 'Battering Ram' opus, but it won't be available until early 2018 according to Biff.

Biff said about the upcoming album:

"We've recorded seven songs already. I finished the vocals just before we came [to the US], actually. We've actually got three or four more songs, but I think we're gonna write three more for the album. We'll rent a studio when we're on festivals — about a week in the studio — and then we'll write some songs.

"It [is being recorded with British producer] Andy Sneap. He's gone off to do Judas Priest while we are here. In September, we'll be finished with that, hopefully. It will be out in 2018, maybe January."

"I have done some lyrics about Nosferatu, the Bram Stoker thing, a very dark song and I am also doing a Motörhead song called 'They Played Rock And Roll'.

"I asked Nibbs to write me some music that was like Motörhead, and he did. So it sounds very Motörhead-ish, but not Motörhead, if you know what I mean."


metal talk © All written site content is copyright 2008-2018, unless otherwise stated, and is not to be used without prior permission.