metal talk
instagram Facebook Twitter RSS
metal talk
7th July 2017


Former Samson and (briefly) Iron Maiden drummer Thunderstick is back with a brand new studio album which will be titled 'Something Wicked This Way Comes' and released at the end of this month, July 2017.

During his time in Samson, who featured a very youthful Bruce Dickinson on lead vocals, Thunderstick, real name Barry Graham Purkis, became a figurehead of the newly emerging NWOBHM (New Wave Of British Heavy Metal) scene. His masked persona alter ego wwas known not only for his wild style of playing his drums but for doing so from inside a cage and terrorizing audiences. He featured regularly on the front cover of Sounds, then the UK's top rock and Metal publication.

He went on to form his own highly theatrical band in the eighties. Fronted by a female rock’n’roll wildchild, Thunderstick the band was a perfect 'Beauty And The Beast' combination, playing live and recording for five years until they folded in 1987.

Thunderstick told us:

"This is an album that is befitting of the Thunderstick of another era, but screams relevance for today.

"The whole thing came about because of the tragic death of our former vocalist Jodee Valentine at just 55. Jodee's passing hit me really hard and I wanted to do something in her memory.

"There are some songs that we were playing live first time around that had never been released, coupled with some new tracks that have been written purely for this album. A new line-up. A new album. A new era."


This is the classic Thunderstick band format of female vocalist, two guitars, bass and drums and the first Thunderstick album of new material in over three decades. The CD album will be available for purchase via Thunderstick's Facepage page, and Bandcamp.

The band line-up is:
Thunderstick (drums)
Lucy V (vocals)
Martin Shellard (guitars)
Dave Kandy Kilford (guitars)
Rex Thunderbolt (bass)

'Something Wicked This Way Comes' tracklist: 1. Dark Night Black Light
2. Don't Touch I’ll Scream
3. Go Sleep With The Enemy (I Dare Ya)
4. The Shining
5. Encumbrance
6. Fly 'N' Mighty
7. Lights (Take Me Away)
8. Blackwing
9. Thunder Thunder '17'
10 I Close My Eyes

All compositions are by Barry Graham Purkis or Chang/Downs/Purkis/Shellard and all lyrics are by Barry Graham Purkis.

judas priest


monsters of rock

Monsters Of Rock In Full Flight is strictly limited to 300 worldwide and is available from 30th November but those ordering before 31st October will have their name published within a dedicated page in the book.

It's a deluxe 128 page hardback book in a metal flight case with a narrative by Jerry Bloom.

When promoter Paul Loasby put on the first Monsters Of Rock Festival in 1980 he could probably never have imagined it would become an annual event that would endure for so many years.

Featuring bands from the UK, Germany, Canada and USA, Loasby chose to stage the event at the Donington race circuit in the middle of England and it would prove to be a defining moment for many of the bands on the bill.

Not least for headliners Rainbow as it was the their last ever show to feature drum legend Cozy Powell. As it would happen it turned out to be the last for vocalist Graham Bonnet as well. For many of the other bands on the bill such as Scorpions, Judas Priest and Saxon, they were all on the ascendancy and would soon go on to even greater success.

Now in celebration of this first ever Monsters Of Rock Festival comes this hardback book full of glorious photos of the bands that took to the stage for that inaugural event including back stage shots. Most of these shots have not been published before which add to the uniqueness of this deluxe 128-page book which is packaged in its own flight case.

Also included are stories surrounding the event with tales and recollections from those who were there, including artists and fans alike. Each book will be signed by the author. The 300 will sell fast and definitely go on to become collector's items so order yours now right here to avoid disappointment.


metal talk © All written site content is copyright 2008-2017, unless otherwise stated, and is not to be used without prior permission.