metal talk
instagram Facebook Twitter RSS
metal talk
25th April 2017


Swedish Black/Folk Metallers Vintersorg's new album, 'Till Fjälls del II', will be released on June 30th 2017 via Napalm Records. It's the highly anticipated sequel to Andreas 'Vintersorg' Hedlund's groundbreaking 1998 album, 'Till Fjälls', which is still considered to be one of the most important albums within the genre.

Today, here on MetalTalk, the opening track from 'Till Fjälls del II', 'Jökelväktaren', is premiering. It's dramatic, it's bombastic, it's epic and it's right here for your enjoyment.

Vintersorg frontman Mr V told us:

"This song is kind of a sequal to the song called 'Jökeln' from the 'Till Fjälls' album from 1998. I really wanted to tie it back to that lyrical theme that deals with glaciers.

"The first episode on that old album is more of an observation of the mightiness of a glacier and how it effects its surroundings, including man. On the new episode I took a different path lyricwise.


"It's much more from an environmental standpoint, dealing with sustainability. Man continues to treat this planet as garbage in some aspects to the point that we actually contribute to melting poles. So, the lyric is about a human being that sees this and tries to address this problem.

"Still it has a lot of nature scenery-worship-style. The music has both harsh and soft edges with a very powerful chorus."

Vintersorg release the first music video from 'Till Fjälls del II', track number four, 'Fjällets Mäktiga Mur' recently and in case you missed it first time round, here it is again.

'Till Fjälls del II' will be available as a two, CD six page digipak and two LP gatefold edition (black vinyl, strictly limited to 300 copies). Also available is the Vintersorg classic 'Ödemarkens Son' from 1999 on vinyl for the first time ever, gatefold edition, strictly limited to 300 copies.

The new album can be described as a heartfelt return to snowcapped mountains, pure nature-inspired mysticism, with Nordic folklore and real Black Metal providing some of Vintersorg's most captivating music to date.


'Till Fjälls del II' tracklist:
1. Jökelväktaren
2. En väldig isvidds karga dräkt
3. Lavin
4. Fjällets mäktiga mur
5. Obygdens pionjär
6. Vinterstorm
7. Tusenåriga stråk
8. Allt mellan himmel och jord
9. Vårflod

1. Tillbaka till källorna
2. Köldens borg
3. Portalen
4. Svart måne

Vintersorg means 'Winter Sorrow', but the name was taken from 'The Legend Of The Ice People' series by Margit Sandemo, where the character Vintersorg is the son of a great Pagan leader.

Mr V



Photos by Nicklas Lundqvist


metal talk © All written site content is copyright 2008-2018, unless otherwise stated, and is not to be used without prior permission.