metal talk
instagram Facebook Twitter RSS
metal talk
6th July 2017


The ultimate Heavy Metal event-in-a-box is about to be unleashed as once again, fans of the greatest Heavy Metal festival in the world, Germany's Wacken Open Air can relive the 2016 festival's most stellar moments thanks to a double disc CD and double disc DVD which will be released on July 21st.

The 2 DVD/2 CD DVD-Digipack, 2 Blu-Ray/2 CD BR-Digipack and Standard Digital Audio (36 tracks) contains music from over thirty of the artists who played the festival last year including Arch Enemy, Bullet For My Valentine, Borknager, Barb Wire Dolls, Triptykon, Saxon, Metal Church, Phil Campbell And The Bastard Sons, Steel Panther, Axel Rudi Pell, Entombed A.D. Red Fang and Tarja Turunen, plus experience the emotional tribute to legendary Motörhead founder Ian 'Lemmy' Kilmister where the Bomber embarked on it's very final flight.


DVD/BluRay 1:
1 Phil Campbell And The Bastard Sons: Big Mouth
2 Profaner: Killing On Command
3 Hämatom: Alte Liebe Rostet Nicht
4 Auðn: Bjáning Heillar Bjóðar
5 Saxon: Battering Ram
6 Saxon: Heavy Metal Thunder
7 Zombies Ate My Girlfriend: Appropriate Hate Crimes
8 Vader: Triumph Of Death
9 Tsjuder: Demonic Supremacy
10 Immolation: Despondent Souls
11 Therapy?: Screamager
12 Michael Monroe: 78
13 Orden Ogan: F.E.V.E.R.
14 Orden Ogan: The Things We Believe In
15 The Vintage Caravan: Expand Your Mind
16 Bury Tomorrow; Man On Fire
17 Entombed A.D.: Dead Dawn
18 Equilibrium: Blut Im Auge
19 Equilibrium: Born To Be Epic
20 Die Krupps: Fatherland
21 Axel Rudi Pell: Game Of Sins
22 Axel Rudi Pell: Rock The Nation
23 Ektomorf: Holocaust
24 Girlschool: Take It Like A Band
25 Lemmy: Born To Lose, Live To Win


DVD/BluRay 2:
1 Torfrock: Trunkenbold
2 Torfrock: Preßlufthammer B-B-Bernhard
3 Eluveitie: Tegernako
4 Eluveitie: Havoc
5 Bullet For My Valentine: Tears Don't Fall
6 Bullet For My Valentine: Waking The Demon
7 Tarja: No Bitter End
8 1349: Sculptor Of Flesh
9 Red Fang: Prehistoric Dog
10 Unisonic: Unisonic
11 Caliban: Paralyzed
12 While She Sleeps: Four Walls
13 Eskimo Callboy: Muffin Purper-Gurk
14 Myrkur: Jeg Er Guden, I Er Tjenerne
15 Borknagar: Colossus
16 Borknagar: Winter Thrice
17 Metal Church: Gods Of Second Chance
18 Therion: Son Of The Sun
19 Therion: Son Of The Staves Of Time
20 Steel Panther: Asian Hooker
21 Steel Panther: Community Property
22 Steak Number Eight: Black Eyed
23 Triptykon: Morbid Tales
24 Buffalo Summer: Money
25 Barb Wire Dolls: Heart Attack
26 Arch Enemy: War Eternal
27 Budderside: Pain
28 Dio Disciples: The Last In Line
29 Dio Disciples: Stargazer

The band... playing on...

1 Phil Campbell And The Bastard Sons: Big Mouth
2 Hämatom: Alte Liebe Rostet Nicht
3 Saxon: Battering Ram
4 Vader: Triumph Of Death
5 Tsjuder: Demonic Supremacy
6 Immolation: Despondent Souls
7 Therapy?: Screamager
8 Michael Monroe: 78
9 The Vintage Caravan: Expand Your Mind
10 Bury Tomorrow: Man On Fire
11 Entombed A.D.: Dead Dawn
12 Equilibrium: Born To Be Epic
13 Die Krupps: Fatherland
14 Axel Rudi Pell: Rock The Nation
15 Girlschool: Take It Like A Band
16 Ektomorf: Holocaust
17 Torfrock: Preßlufthammer B-B-B-ernhard
18 Eluveitie: Havoc


1 Bullet For My Valentine: Tears Don't Fall
2 Tarja: No Bitter End
3 1349: Sculptor Of Flesh
4 Red Fang: Prehistoric Dog
5 Unisonic: Unisonic
6 Caliban: Paralyzed
7 Eskimo Callboy: Muffin Purper-Gurk
8 Borknagar: Colossus
9 Metal Church: Gods Of Second Chance
10 Therion: Son Of The Staves Of Time
11 Steel Panther: Community property
12 Steak Number Eight: Black Eyed
13 Triptykon: Morbid Tales
14 Buffalo Summer: Money
15 Barb Wire Dolls: Heart Attack
16 Arch Enemy: War Eternal
17 Budderside: Pain
18 Dio Disciples: Stargazer


Also, earMUSIC will release Unisonic' 2016 Wacken Open Air show on CD and DVD.

With their 2012 self-titled debut album, Unisonic unleashed a storm of enthusiasm. For the first time in twenty-three years, the two former members of Hamburg's Metal institution Helloween - Michael Kiske and Kai Hansen – reunited to play in the same band. More than a few Metal fans might have shed a tear.

After the successful follow-up album, 2014s 'Light Of Dawn', a worldwide tour followed with memorable gigs in South America, Europe and Japan until Unisonic, still at full speed, brought their energy to the small village of Wacken.


The international all-star act consisting of Michael Kiske on vocals, Kai Hansen on guitars, Mandy Meyer (ex-Asia, ex-Gotthard, Krokus) on guitars, Dennis Ward (Pink Cream 69) on bass guitar and Kosta Zafiriou (ex-Pink Cream 69) on drums entered the Wacken stage and set the night ablaze with glorious Metal. For the band it was a remarkable experience.

Like the studio albums, 'Live In Wacken' was mixed and mastered by the band's own Dennis Ward.

2017 and 2018 will see Kiske and Hansen reunite with Helloween for the Pumpkins United World Tour.

The Unisonic show will be available on a limited CD+DVD (Digipak) version. The bonus DVD includes the video recording of six songs from their spectacular performance.

For Wacken 2017, The Hall Of Heavy Metal History have joined forces with the world's largest and premier Heavy Metal music festival, for a special ceremony inducting Ross 'The Boss' Freidman as 'Global Metal Ambassador'.

The ceremony will take place on the Main Stage at Wacken Open Air festival on Thursday August 3rd 2017 in front of 75,000 Metal fans.

Joining Ross on stage for the Induction Ceremony will be various Wacken Open Air officials and AFM Records executives. Whitney Alyson Ribbins of and MetalTalk's Steve Göldby will officiate this ceremony.


Pat Gesualdo said:

"It is a great honour to join with Wacken Open Air to induct Ross 'The Boss' Friedman with the 'Global Metal Ambassador Award'. If anyone deserves this award, it's Ross. He’s been working extremely hard for decades to ensure that Metal continues to thrive."

Wacken Open Air promoter Thomas Jensen said:

"We are very happy to be part of this very special ceremony and looking forward to having Ross The Boss on our stage for the very first time in Wacken."

Click the banner for our coverage of Wacken 2016...


metal talk © All written site content is copyright 2008-2018, unless otherwise stated, and is not to be used without prior permission.